Un-winterizing a Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-02-2011, 03:07 PM   #1

Name: Alice
Trailer: 2018 Casita SD - Kondo A-Go-Go
Utah
Registry
Un-winterizing a Scamp

This is my first year owning a Scamp. I'm going to the Quartzsite Scamp gathering next week. Right now Scamp is winterized and sitting in my driveway. Here in S. Utah, it still gets cold overnight in the 20 - 30's. I would like to fill up my tank with water before I leave. Do I "rinse" the pink antifreeze out before hand? Still being cold in these parts, would there be a concern for freezing before I go? Are there any precautions that should be taken? If it were summer, no problem. The biggest concern is freezing before I go. I can hold off unwinterizing until the night before I leave, but there is a lot to do that night, packing and all. Any suggestions welcome.
Alice

KONDO A-GO-GO - I GO WHERE I'M TOWED
Wallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:58 PM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
This is my first year owning a Scamp. I'm going to the Quartzsite Scamp gathering next week. Right now Scamp is winterized and sitting in my driveway. Here in S. Utah, it still gets cold overnight in the 20 - 30's. I would like to fill up my tank with water before I leave. Do I "rinse" the pink antifreeze out before hand? Still being cold in these parts, would there be a concern for freezing before I go? Are there any precautions that should be taken? If it were summer, no problem. The biggest concern is freezing before I go. I can hold off unwinterizing until the night before I leave, but there is a lot to do that night, packing and all. Any suggestions welcome.
Alice