What are these for? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2016, 07:00 AM   #1

Name: Robert
Trailer: Boler
Idaho
What are these for?

I am new to owning a fiberglass rv so this may be a stupid question but...what are these used for? There is one in the front, one in the back, and two on the drivers side...none on the passenger side. Thanks!

Note. Picture is upside down. Loop faces up
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  
Robert208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 07:11 AM   #2

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert208 View Post
I am new to owning a fiberglass rv so this may be a stupid question but...what are these used for? There is one in the front, one in the back, and two on the drivers side...none on the passenger side. Thanks!

Are those on the belly band? Looks like maybe something a previous owner added for some unknown reason. Could be anything from hold downs for a cover to some sort of awning supports (although none on the passenger side might rule that out).
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 08:02 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
What are these for?

Agree- could be anything. Some folks attach an ordinary flat tarp to the trailer and tie it across the top, using poles and guy ropes on the door side. That's my guess. I'll even go out on a limb- I'll bet it had four grommets on the edge against the trailer!

Looks like they're starting to rust, so it may be best to remove them and fill the holes.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 08:03 AM   #4

Name: Francois
Trailer: Bigfoot
British Columbia
Registry
somebody's solution....