15 AMP TO 30 AMP QUESTION - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 05:18 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Karalyn's Avatar
 
Name: Karalyn
Trailer: Eggless for now but looking. currently own Amerilite 21 ft
Minnesota
Posts: 844
Thumbs up

I was out to camping world again (thought I was done there this year ha-ha)
I was looking for a small type plug in to go from my 30 amp cord to the 15 amp receptical without pulling the 30 amp cord out of the plug in (they had nothing that turned to work!).
I inquired about plugging my orange power cord, the regular 15 amp one into the trailer electrical system. The guy said that would work fine, and I could then use the 50 or 100 ft cord with no problem as I was hooked up to regular household current (like in my house or garage) . He says if using all 30 amp wiring, cut back to 50' or less but if using the regular household outside orange power cord pluged into my Casita 30 amp cord, I could go to a longer cord.
OPINION PLEASE?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Karalyn
http://karalynsmaltese.com/</B>
Money will buy a fine dog, but only kindness will make him wag his tail.


Karalyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 07:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Joe MacDonald's Avatar
 
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Posts: 753
sounds like you're looking for a converter plug, but I'm not quite sure.
AFAIK, you have said the Trailer has a 30 amp end on it's cord, and you want to plug it into a 15amp receptacle.
Is this right?

there is an adapter made, it looks like this.
Club Price $2.49
Reg $2.77
Catalog Item # 24493 ( camping world)
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 09:29 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
The addapter is also sold at WalMart.
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 10:08 AM   #4
Suz
Senior Member
 
Suz's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1989 Casita Spirit Deluxe
Posts: 2,055
Registry
Quote:
He says if using all 30 amp wiring, cut back to 50' or less but if using the regular household [b]outside orange power cord pluged into my Casita 30 amp cord, I could go to a longer cord.
OPINION PLEASE?
Thanks!
I advise caution on this. Not all orange cords are created equally. Don't let the words "15 amp" or "heavy duty" fool you. Check the wire guage that's imprinted on the cord. Do not use 14/3; 12/3 is okay but borderline. I personally use a 50 foot 10/3 (10 guage/3wire). Yes, it's heavier than the others, but I feel it's safer for both you and your trailer.

NOTE: I only charge my battery, run my small (5K BTU) A/C, or lights with this set up. I don't run (or have) a fridge with 110.
__________________
Suz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 06:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Al V's Avatar
 
Trailer: 2005 17 ft Casita Freedom Deluxe
Posts: 314
Send a message via Yahoo to Al V
your cant run everything off a 15 amp breaker . like a/c and microwave. or heater and microwave. or heater and a/c lol that is hot water heater in electric mode. that's the one that got me once .
__________________
Al V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 05:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Karalyn's Avatar
 
Name: Karalyn
Trailer: Eggless for now but looking. currently own Amerilite 21 ft
Minnesota
Posts: 844
Thanks, I have that adapter shown in the picture. I just wanted a longer cord. I am headed on Sunday to a campsite (at my brothers place on the lake) that I need a 100 ft cord for. Was hoping I could get by with it for the air conditioner.
__________________
Karalyn
http://karalynsmaltese.com/</B>
Money will buy a fine dog, but only kindness will make him wag his tail.


Karalyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 06:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Trailer: 2005 13 ft Trillium Outback
Posts: 282
Registry
Most reasonably priced 100' extension cords will have significant voltage drop when trying to pull 15 amps thru them. That voltage drop will be the early death of your Air Conditioner. I don't know the electrical math, but I would guess you would need 8 gage or less wires. That much copper wire gets expensive and heavy. You might be able to do it with 100' of the regular 30 amp RV cord, if you have 30 amps available to plug into. A 15 amp circuit simply will not deliver enough juice.

Curt
__________________
2005 Trillium Outback w/ 30" tongue extension
1989 Award 730, 30'
2003 PT Cruiser
1998 K2500 Chevy Silverado 6.5 Turbo Diesel, 4X4, ext cab, short bed
Curtis F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 06:47 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Name: Thane
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 223
I the following info on this related link. It is repeated here for convinience. http://www.fiberglassrv.com/board/index.ph...topic=20327&hl=

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I play one at work and I think the following is accurate.

For a 15 amp current, the extension cord voltage drop per linear foot and the total drop across a 50 and 100 foot extension cord is as follows:

10 Gauge 0.01550 Volts/ft 0.775 Volts for 50 ft 1.55 Volts for 100 ft
12 Gauge 0.02468 Volts/ft 1.234 Volts for 50 ft 2.468 Volts for 100 ft

For a 30 amp current, the same data is as follows:

10 Gauge 0.03100 Volts/ft 1.55 Volts for 50 ft 3.10 Volts for 100 ft
12 Gauge 0.04936 Volts/ft 2.468 Volts for 50 ft 4.936 Volts for 100 ft

So if you use a 12 gauge, 100 foot long extension cord connencted to a typical home 15 amp line, the voltage drop is approximately 2.5 volts between the wall and the trailer.

If we assume that the trailer has a built in 25 foot 10 gauge line, an additonal voltage drop of 0.3875 volts will occur. This is a total voltage drop of almost 3 volts or approximately 2.7 percent of the nominal 110 volts available. Additional voltage drops due to internal trailer wiring and bad luck will drop the voltage by 3% or more. Plus we should assume there is a measurable voltage drop between the power pole outside the house and the electric plug on the side of the house.

What all this means is beyond me. If your device stives to maintain a constant power output then the current will increase by 3% to compensate for the 3% voltage drop. This adds to the current draw which results in a higher voltage drop and the cycle continues until a thermal or current limit or a stability point is reached. In other words, the lower voltage means your pumps and fans work harder which will force them to work even harder to maintain the necessary power level.

This voltage drop and current increase is part of the reason extension cords shouldn't be hooked together. This is also why my extension cords get so darn hot at Christmas.
__________________
Thane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 11:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Trailer: 2005 13 ft Trillium Outback
Posts: 282
Registry
Found this info on another site Extension Cord ratings.

His numbers show more voltage loss than those above. What ever the real numbers are, people have had problems with long extension cords.

Curt
__________________
2005 Trillium Outback w/ 30" tongue extension
1989 Award 730, 30'
2003 PT Cruiser
1998 K2500 Chevy Silverado 6.5 Turbo Diesel, 4X4, ext cab, short bed
Curtis F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 08:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Patrick M.'s Avatar
 
Name: Patrick
Trailer: 2007 Casita Liberty (Sold 2011)/ Honda Odyssey
Arizona
Posts: 705
I looked up the Coleman Mini-Mach A/C supplied by Scamp and it draws 8.2 amps (without heater), or 1,000 to 1,280 watts depending on conditions. I would think a 15 amp cord should work just fine. No?

Coleman recommends 12AWG supply wires.
__________________
Patrick M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dan Meyer's Avatar
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Minnesota
Posts: 559
I've run 50 to 100 foot 14 AWG extension cords and run my A/C many times since I purchased my Scamp in August 2000. I do understand that this is not the ideal situation, but I've done it, and had no problems so far.

-- Dan Meyer
__________________
Dan Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 03:44 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
Dan, You are more than likely putting to much of a strain on the AC compressor with the 14G wire. I use a 12G and it tends to start the compressor quicker.

Next time you use it, get the AC running then go and feel the 14G extension cord and it should be warm. One important note: Make absolutely sure you do not have a knot in the cord as this is the poingt where it will get to hot and melt the insulation.

DR
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dan Meyer's Avatar
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Minnesota
Posts: 559
If 14 AWG isn't good enough to carry 15 amps, why is my house wired with 14 AWG cable on the 15 amp circuits?

-- Dan Meyer
__________________
Dan Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 06:35 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
Dan, The answer is because the builder saved money by going with the less expensive 14G wire. That seams to be the way everything here in the US has gone, cheapest by the lowest bidder, just to get by.

My house is wired with 12G except for the extremely high load areas that have 10 and 8 and I still use a 15Amp breaker on the 12G wire. The long 14G cord draws amps and takes away from what your load on the end may need.

Your house also does not have 100 feet of 14G with an extremely heavy load at the end. Houses normally have shorter runs and branch circuits so the power does not have to travel such a long distance.

Run your egg with the Air C on and other ac devices then go and feel the extension cord to see if it is warm.

If I try to run my air compressor on a 14G extension cord, it will draw to may amps, the compressor labors and the breaker pops however if I use a 12G extension cord, it powers right up, no laboring on the motor part, no problem.
__________________

__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Rob M Forum Admin, News & Announcements 3 10-26-2009 09:51 PM
TV Question Pat M Care and Feeding of Molded Fiberglass Trailers 21 05-04-2008 11:47 PM
Cat Question Ian-Vicki Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 13 08-20-2007 11:03 AM
GPS Question Darwin Maring Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 10 12-25-2006 12:19 AM
Answer a Question then Ask a Question CarolnJim General Chat 77 06-03-2006 12:39 PM

» Trailer Showcase

Amerigo

donjdart

LUNA

keekers
» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.