1971 Boler bunkbed... need help - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-19-2016, 02:50 PM   #1

Name: Kyle
Trailer: '71 Boler
Texas
1971 Boler bunkbed... need help

Hi all, I just got a 1971 13' Boler that needs work and I am new to this stuff... It is missing one of the upright poles that supports the upper bunk and there is a fiberglass lip that comes out of the wall a 3-5 inches under the window and a piece of mdf was glued on there and the hinges for the upper bunk/back of couch was attached. (sorry I don't have pics) My problem is that the fiberglass lip has a pretty good downward bend to it. How do I fix this or do I even need to?

I have removed the MDF and plan on putting a piece of 3/4" plywood (same that i am going to use for the board of the beds) and attach 4 simple hinges. I am looking for suggestions from those who have replaced this stuff.
TIA!

Kyle
DrKyle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 03:10 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
That ledge under the window carries much of the weight of the bunk and anyone on it, so i would want it to be strong. I believe on my Scamp it is epoxied to the outer shell, encased in fiberglass, and covered in rat fur. I am going by my memory of what others have posted- I haven't taken mine apart.

In your case, I would be inclined to make several custom-fitted, wedge-shaped brackets (sort of like buttresses) under the ledge to add strength.

Four hinges seem like overkill, since the ledge, not the hinges, carries the weight.

This thread has some details and close-up photos of the Scamp bunk set-up (see post #4). I think a Boler is pretty similar. It might be of some help.
http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...ons-72253.html
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 03:33 PM   #3

Texas
Cool thanks
Old 10-21-2016, 05:12 AM   #4

Name: Tim
Trailer: Boler