3 way fridge not working - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2015, 07:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Shawn
Trailer: Ventura
Saskatchewan
Posts: 23
3 way fridge not working

Hello FBRV,
I am hoping someone can help me out here. I am remodeling a trailer and putting a new Dometic 2354 3 way fridge, they fridge has just came in and I wanted to plug it in to see if it works.
So I plugged it into a 120v outlet and nothing happened.

Any ideas why this is? Does it need to be hooked up to the gas lines and 12V DC to work?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Merc1fuL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 08:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Name: Randy
Trailer: 2003 Casita 17' SD
Duluth,Minnesota
Posts: 51
How long did you leave it plugged in? Nothing noticeable happens when you plug it in but several hours (or more) later you should start noticing it getting cooler. Try leaving it plugged in overnight and then see if it cooling or not. Make sure the thermostat is set correctly and you should be good to go. You should not need it hooked up to gas or 12v dc for it to work on 120v.
__________________

__________________
Randy Hagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 09:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
As mentioned, this type of refrigerator takes a considerable amount of time to start cooling. I suggest putting a gallon of cold water in the unit and monitor the temp of the water, not that of the air inside the refrigerator.


ALSO: It appears that this refrigerator also requires 12 VDC to operate the energy selector system. Here is a clip from the manual.


12 Volts DC Connection


This refrigerator model require a continuous 12 volt DC


supply to maintain the automatic energy system.


The connection is made to the positive (+) and negative


(-) terminals of the terminal block on back of the refrigerator.


(See FIG. 1). Correct polarity


I don\t know if it will default to 120 operation if there is no 12 VDC and no LP applied.




Above all, be patient... if it is a new refrigerator, it will work, Dometic is very good about quality control.
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 09:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rbryan's Avatar
 
Name: Robert
Trailer: 2015 Escape 19 "Past Tents" 2015 F150 Lariat Ecoboost Crew Cab
Texas
Posts: 905
Registry
Almost all 3 way fridges require a 12v DC connection in order to power up, especially if they're AES. If the control board doesn't sense adequate input voltage, it won't turn on.
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 10:18 PM   #5
Commercial Member
 
tractors1's Avatar
 
Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbryan View Post
Almost all 3 way fridges require a 12v DC connection in order to power up, especially if they're AES. If the control board doesn't sense adequate input voltage, it won't turn on.
Control board does need 12V to run and sense energy source. If no 120V then it sends out 12V to the propane gas solenoid to open that.
__________________
Charlie Y

Don't drill holes, try custom storage you design: http://RVWidgetWorks.com
tractors1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 10:03 AM   #6
Member
 
Name: Gerry
Trailer: Triple E
British Columbia
Posts: 52
Here's a little note to Dometic fridge owners. The newer fridges have a heater inside the freezer compartment door opening. This is intended to prevent the freezer door from freezing shut. The problem is, that as long as the fridge is receiving 12 volts, this heater is on, 24/7. If you are off grid this can flatten your batteries in two or three days. There is a switch in the upper casing of the door opening. If you are off grid I recommend that you slide it to the off position. This shuts off the heater.
__________________
Gerry Kiernan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 10:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
Dometic Refrigerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbryan View Post
Almost all 3 way fridges require a 12v DC connection in order to power up, especially if they're AES. If the control board doesn't sense adequate input voltage, it won't turn on.
"Almost all" might be a stretch, especially with many of the smaller units installed in FGRV's. I have had at least 6 Dometics in the past 10 years and none of them required 12VDC to operate. I usually don't even bother connecting the 12VDC circuit when installing them.

But, that said, always read the instructions before trying to make one work, some will require a 12 VDC connection.
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 11:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Name: Gerry
Trailer: Triple E
British Columbia
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Miller View Post
"Almost all" might be a stretch, especially with many of the smaller units installed in FGRV's. I have had at least 6 Dometics in the past 10 years and none of them required 12VDC to operate. I usually don't even bother connecting the 12VDC circuit when installing them.

But, that said, always read the instructions before trying to make one work, some will require a 12 VDC connection.
Many of the older models, particularly the smaller units, do not require a 12 volt source, as they run on a propane pilot light. This pilot light will be on as long as the fridge is in operation. But, many of the newer units have a control panel that regulates the cycling of the fridge, and ignites and turns off the pilot light. These units do require a 12 volt source or they will not run.
__________________
Gerry Kiernan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 12:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
floyd's Avatar
 
Name: Floyd
Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
IllAnnoy
Posts: 6,047
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Miller View Post
"Almost all" might be a stretch, especially with many of the smaller units installed in FGRV's. I have had at least 6 Dometics in the past 10 years and none of them required 12VDC to operate. I usually don't even bother connecting the 12VDC circuit when installing them.

But, that said, always read the instructions before trying to make one work, some will require a 12 VDC connection.
Ditto!
__________________
floyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 04:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dan Meyer's Avatar
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Minnesota
Posts: 559
Here is a link to probably more detail than you really wanted to know about RV 'Fridges: http://www.rvdoctor.com/2004/02/rv-a...on-basics.html

-- Dan Meyer
__________________
Dan Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 05:45 PM   #11
Raz
Senior Member
 
Raz's Avatar
 
Name: Raz
Trailer: Trillium 2010
Vermont
Posts: 4,063
If the controls are inside the trailer then the fridge most likely requires 12volts to power a control board. Figure about 1/2 amp battery drain to run it. Raz
__________________
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 07:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
The Minimalist's Avatar
 
Name: Clif
Trailer: 08 Weiscraft Little Joe 14 Subaru Outback 2.5i CVT
Louisiana
Posts: 724
Registry
What is your outside temperature. Absorption refrigerators have been know to vapor lock when cooling is initiated at high ambient temps. The solution is to turn the unit off and try again when the outside temp bottoms out at night. And, be patient.
__________________
Clif
The Minimalist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:13 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Name: Shawn
Trailer: Ventura
Saskatchewan
Posts: 23
Thank you everyone for your help, sorry it takes me so long to reply but have been busy working on it. It needed a 12v connection to work. The manual that came with the fridge was not that helpful but you all are.
Thanks again!



Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV
__________________

__________________
Merc1fuL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a 2-way fridge become a 3-way fridge? Rob Carmody Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 13 06-24-2016 11:54 AM
2 way compressor fridge vs 3 way propane aimeelightsey General Chat 9 05-20-2011 06:56 PM
3way fridge not working on 12V Rick G Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 28 03-31-2010 11:44 AM
Fridge not working... Is it worth trying to fix it? Rob Carmody Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 6 09-06-2008 04:08 PM
Fridge not working all the time Karen Fisch Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 7 05-01-2006 08:25 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.