30Amp, 50Amp ??? - Fiberglass RV



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2019, 06:48 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: '87 13'scamp, 2006 Trailblazer
Minnesota
Posts: 23
30Amp, 50Amp ???

I have a '87 SCAMP with a "regular" power cord that would fit any household outlet. However, I have access to a seasonal site that is 30Amp (if I remember correctly, forgot to grab a picture, it might be a 50Amp) I'll ask the owners of the property. My question here is can I just purchase an adapter that goes from my "regular" power, extension cord to the 30Amp at the site? Will this cause any damage to the Scamp? Thanks in advance.
__________________

stevebell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 06:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
widgetwizard's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Trailer: Bigfoot
Texas
Posts: 404
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevebell View Post
can I just purchase an adapter that goes from my "regular" power, extension cord to the 30Amp at the site? Will this cause any damage to the Scamp? Thanks in advance.
Yes you can.
No it wont cause any damage.
__________________

__________________
Retired from Orbital Machine Works.
Where is Jim now?
widgetwizard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Radar1's Avatar
 
Name: Dave (and/or John)
Trailer: Scamp 16 SD std layout 6
Georgia
Posts: 872
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by widgetwizard View Post
Yes you can.
No it wont cause any damage.
I like that answer Jim! Short and concise, and accurate.
__________________
John-Dave and Marilyn
Sharpsburg, GA
04 Dodge Dakota V-8 and 17 Dodge Durango V-6
radar1-scamping.blogspot.com
Radar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 08:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Larry C Hanson's Avatar
 
Name: Larry H
Trailer: Trillium
Arizona
Posts: 326
Hello,

Common adapter:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Park-Powe...apter/50442236

https://www.amazon.com/Power-3015ARV...gateway&sr=8-2

Larry H
Larry C Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 11:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Name: John
Trailer: Escape 21
CA
Posts: 1,509
I use the opposite adapter, a 15A extension cord from my house into the 30A plug of my campers, to charge the battery and run the lights and fridge and stuff when its in my driveway. its enough power for anything other than running the AC and microwave at the same time, that will pop a breaker in your house.

FYI, 50A RV service is 4-blade, and is 240V, with neutral and ground on the other two blades... either side of 240 to neutral is 120, so a 50A to 30A or 50A to 15A adapter just connects one phase/side, neutral, and ground to provide 120V 30A or 120V 15A service...



this adapter plugs into a 50A service, and lets you plug 3 15A things in. I didn't find one that was just 50A plug to 1 15A socket, but I'm sure its out there.
https://www.amazon.com/Parkworld-886.../dp/B078XBC37F


ok, here's 50A to 30A,
https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Campe.../dp/B06XTSQG3G

and here's 30A to 15/20A...
https://www.amazon.com/Leisure-Dogbo.../dp/B07BZ2B22F

so both of those together would let you plug into anything.

i've not yet been in a park that had 50A but no 30A.
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 09:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Name: Jann
Trailer: Casita
Colorado
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevebell View Post
I have a '87 SCAMP with a "regular" power cord that would fit any household outlet. However, I have access to a seasonal site that is 30Amp (if I remember correctly, forgot to grab a picture, it might be a 50Amp) I'll ask the owners of the property. My question here is can I just purchase an adapter that goes from my "regular" power, extension cord to the 30Amp at the site? Will this cause any damage to the Scamp? Thanks in advance.
Yes you can we do it all the time at home to keep the battery charged up in the winter and to cool down the fridge before leaving. Just don't use the A/C since I'm not sure there's enough power to do that. We also put the surge protector on it in case of a power surge or drop. Plug surge protector into the adapter and trailer into the surge protector. The adapters are pretty cheap and can be gotten many places. When getting the adapter pay attention to the angle of the plugs. We got one that when we plugged it in it was upside down in the receptacle and wouldn't let us plug in properly. So now we have more than one.
Jann Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 09:52 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Name: Darral
Trailer: Scamp Standard 13' 2010
Tennessee
Posts: 1,622
Ok...I'm going to TOTALLY disagree based on ONE thing. What amperage is the cord rated for that's being used to plug into the 30A circuit?

IF it AND/OR the circuitry is not rated for 30A and you pull over 20A or what ever the rating is, you stand the BIG chance for a fire hazard!! Why? Because if you have an overload, the 30A most likely will NOT trip. Just something to think about. Make sure you do NOT over load that cord and that when it gets inside your Scamp, you have the sufficient 15-20A breakers to protect the interior plugs!!

What I'm telling you may not be a popular answer, but I PROMISE you it's sound advice!! I dont want to see anyone hurt.
Darral T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 10:09 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Name: Alex
Trailer: Bigfoot
Washington
Posts: 19
Registry
Darral,
I think if you plug your 30A cord into a 15A house circuit, the house circuit breaker takes car of the overload protection at the 15A level. So, say, 17A would trip the breaker. But yes, it would be unwise to use a flimsy lamp extension cord for the camper. I think the usual 12ga extension cord will be fine, but to be sure, use a 10ga cord. https://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
SnowballCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 10:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Name: Jann
Trailer: Casita
Colorado
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darral T. View Post
Ok...I'm going to TOTALLY disagree based on ONE thing. What amperage is the cord rated for that's being used to plug into the 30A circuit?

IF it AND/OR the circuitry is not rated for 30A and you pull over 20A or what ever the rating is, you stand the BIG chance for a fire hazard!! Why? Because if you have an overload, the 30A most likely will NOT trip. Just something to think about. Make sure you do NOT over load that cord and that when it gets inside your Scamp, you have the sufficient 15-20A breakers to protect the interior plugs!!

What I'm telling you may not be a popular answer, but I PROMISE you it's sound advice!! I dont want to see anyone hurt.
We do not use an extension cord. We plug the adapter into the wall socket and the trailer into it with the surge protector at home. The adapter is rated for that use. Then we only run the fridge and LED lights to see to load. We keep our trailer in a garage so it is dark in it. We keep a volt meter plugged in all the time and watch it. I vacuum the carpet before I turn on the fridge. Have done this for years in our Casita and motorhome and no problems. I wouldn't even think of using the A/C with it plugged into the 15-20 amp outlet. We tried that at a relatives and it tripped the breaker instantly. The only way that works is to use a power booster.
Jann Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 10:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Name: Darral
Trailer: Scamp Standard 13' 2010
Tennessee
Posts: 1,622
Alex, Maybe I'm "thinking" backwards on what the "op" wrote. But to me, they're taking a "regular"? cord (I can imagine a 15A drop cord) and plugging it into a 30A receptacle? To me that's dangerous and unacceptable.

I also use adapters to plug my 30A into a 20/15A outlet. BUT, IF you go over 15/20A, it WILL trip the circuit breaker as it should. But NOT if you hook it up as I'm thinking the "op" wants to do using a 15A? cord into a 30A receptacle. To me it's extremely dangerous as the breaker will NOT trip even if the cord is overloaded (unless hopefully it would short quickly and throw the breaker preventing a potential fire!) If I'm wrong in thinking, I gladly accept the correction...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowballCamper View Post
Darral,
I think if you plug your 30A cord into a 15A house circuit, the house circuit breaker takes car of the overload protection at the 15A level. So, say, 17A would trip the breaker. But yes, it would be unwise to use a flimsy lamp extension cord for the camper. I think the usual 12ga extension cord will be fine, but to be sure, use a 10ga cord. https://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
Darral T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 11:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Name: Jann
Trailer: Casita
Colorado
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darral T. View Post
Alex, Maybe I'm "thinking" backwards on what the "op" wrote. But to me, they're taking a "regular"? cord (I can imagine a 15A drop cord) and plugging it into a 30A receptacle? To me that's dangerous and unacceptable.

I also use adapters to plug my 30A into a 20/15A outlet. BUT, IF you go over 15/20A, it WILL trip the circuit breaker as it should. But NOT if you hook it up as I'm thinking the "op" wants to do using a 15A? cord into a 30A receptacle. To me it's extremely dangerous as the breaker will NOT trip even if the cord is overloaded (unless hopefully it would short quickly and throw the breaker preventing a potential fire!) If I'm wrong in thinking, I gladly accept the correction...
I would not use a regular household or tool extension cord. We have the regular RV 30 amp extension cord for those times that the trailer one won't reach. They do make an adapter that goes from 30 amp down to 15 amp plugs for the trailers that don't have a 30 amp plug. I would hope the adapter would compensate for the higher amps at the pole. We've run into the times that there wasn't a 15 amp plug in at the pole. We don't need it except to run outdoor lights or use an appliance and then we run a drop cord for those items off of the pole. But some trailers don't have a 30 amp plug only a 15 amp.
Jann Todd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 12:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Alex Adams's Avatar
 
Name: Alexander
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1300
New Hampshire
Posts: 445
My trailer has a 15-amp breaker wired between the cord and the trailer wiring so if I plug into a 30 amp power source and exceed 15 amps, the breaker will trip protecting the wiring for the cord and the trailer.
Alex Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 01:14 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Name: Darral
Trailer: Scamp Standard 13' 2010
Tennessee
Posts: 1,622
Your's is protected for exactly what I was describing. But is Steve's? (The op).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Adams View Post
My trailer has a 15-amp breaker wired between the cord and the trailer wiring so if I plug into a 30 amp power source and exceed 15 amps, the breaker will trip protecting the wiring for the cord and the trailer.
Darral T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 01:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Name: Darral
Trailer: Scamp Standard 13' 2010
Tennessee
Posts: 1,622
Jann, if I follow what you're saying, your Casita has the 30A cord/plug right? If so, stepping down to a 15/20A plug is the not the problem. Even if the trailer isnt protected, all the "Pedestals" in campgrounds I've visited has their 15/20A plugs on a breaker. So these will trip- I'm guess like the one did for the relatives. But again, if there's no protection (Like Alex has) and someone's using a smaller cord and adapt it to the 30A circuit on a pedestal, it will NOT see the over-load on the cord if it happens. That's my point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jann Todd View Post
I would not use a regular household or tool extension cord. We have the regular RV 30 amp extension cord for those times that the trailer one won't reach. They do make an adapter that goes from 30 amp down to 15 amp plugs for the trailers that don't have a 30 amp plug. I would hope the adapter would compensate for the higher amps at the pole. We've run into the times that there wasn't a 15 amp plug in at the pole. We don't need it except to run outdoor lights or use an appliance and then we run a drop cord for those items off of the pole. But some trailers don't have a 30 amp plug only a 15 amp.
__________________

Darral T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Maria in MD
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30amp Scamp at 50amp park TheWanderers Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 14 06-01-2019 09:12 AM
Best way to monitor battery-Centurian 3000 30amp converter jefflarsen Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 24 09-02-2016 07:03 PM
Question About 15amp & 30amp Hookups Seth and Desiree Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 22 07-12-2014 02:51 AM
50amp to 30amp adapter scamprookie Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 7 05-07-2013 08:16 AM
Wiring Diagram for 120v 30amp Burro entrance panel needed megatrack Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 1 03-27-2012 07:14 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.