another running light problem - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2011, 07:48 PM   #1

Name: Jack
Trailer: '98 BURRO 17WB
Delaware
another running light problem

I am new to trailering and the forum. In my debutante post a couple days back, I mentioned that I towed my "new" Burro home Sat. last with magnetic bumper mount signal/tail lights because no joy with the Hopkins 7 blade to 6 round pin adaptor which I purchased, with salutary forethought, at ChinaMart. From this I have learned that forethought is good if you know what you're doing; otherwise not so much.

I was pretty confidant of the truck circuitry as had all tail/brake/signal functions with the magnetics and no problem with my old utility trailer with flat 4 connector. In desperation, I read the instructions this evening and discovered the center=brake/center=hot 12vdc choice. I switched blue and black leads inside the adaptor tonite and got the black lead on the center pin and the blue brake lead out on the perimeter. I now have all functions with the exception of NO tail lights. Brake, turn signal, hazard flasher, license plate light, AND all sidemarkers work. Aren't the markers and the tail lights fed by the brown lead? So now I'm good to go daytime but illegal after dark
Can someone supply a beentheredonethat hint? TIA.

jack
rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:27 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 Scamp 16 ft / 2003 Durango
A very basic question, did you check the tail light bulbs ?

Yes the tail lights are on the same circuit as the clearance lights.

If the bulbs are good then you have to start looking for a loose connection on the wire's + & - going to the tail lights,

Bill K

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit View Post