Boler refrigerator not getting cold - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2015, 12:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Emilie
Trailer: Boler
Oregon
Posts: 18
Boler refrigerator not getting cold

Hey guys,

I'm having some issue with the fridge in my 1975 Boler. I'm wondering if I can get it working again, or if I should just bite the bullet and buy a new fridge.

It's a Tedco 202. I bought the Boler in October and have been full-timing in it ever since, running the fridge on AC. For the first three months, the fridge worked fine. It was actually a little TOO cold. It froze my vegetables a few times and I had to turn it way down. Then in mid-January, it just spontaneously stopped working one day. I opened the door, everything was warm, and all of the ice had melted. There was no heat coming out of the vent in the back (it had been quite hot before when the fridge was running).

The fridge manual suggested cleaning out the flue, and the research I did online suggested that blowing some condensed air on the burner might help. I did that, and to my delight, it seemed to work. The fridge started up again. It did get too cold again, and I eventually had to turn it down a little.

Then about a month later, the same thing happened. Fridge spontaneously stopped getting cold. I tried blowing more air on the burner, and thought it may have worked. But I don't think it did. Right now it's kind of cool in there, but not cold enough. It's definitely working a little though, and I'm feeling heat emanating from the vent in the back.

Oy. Do you have any idea what's going on here? Is this 40 year old fridge just on its way out, or is there something I can do? I know you're going to ask, so I'll just say right now that I have not tried running it off of propane. I probably should. It's silly but propane scares me a little. I also don't know how to light it. But I should give that a go... Anyway, your suggestions are most appreciated!

Thanks,
Emilie
__________________

__________________
Emilie W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 05:02 AM   #2
Raz
Senior Member
 
Raz's Avatar
 
Name: Raz
Trailer: Trillium 2010
Vermont
Posts: 4,063
A 3 way fridge has 3 heat sources. For propane operation there is a burner that needs periodic cleaning. AC operation and DC operation each have separate heating elements. If you have been running on shore power then only the AC element was in use. Your problem could be a bad element but I would be more inclined to suspect a bad connection or a bad switch. If there is temperature control on AC, then a bad thermostat is also a possibility. A resistance check with an ohmmeter is where I would start. Could be a loose connection or the switch needs some contact cleaner. Raz
__________________

__________________
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 06:45 AM   #3
Commercial Member
 
Ian G.'s Avatar
 
Name: Ian
Trailer: 1974 Boler 1300 - 2014 Escape 19'
Alberta
Posts: 1,304
Registry
I agree with Raz, a simple check to see if it is just the 120V element is to run the fridge on propane to test it. If it cools with propane but not 120V then the problem is definitely in the AC heating element or wiring to the element (switch, connectors etc)
Ian G. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:05 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Name: Emilie
Trailer: Boler
Oregon
Posts: 18
Thanks for your responses. I tried getting it to run on propane, but I'm not sure if I'm doing it correctly. I follow the instructions, hold down the ignition button, depress the switch, and the flame comes on. I hold it for 20+ seconds, but when I release it the flame goes out. I've done this several times. Is the flame that I see supposed to go out, and is it maybe that the burner inside is on? Or should the flame stay lit after I release the ignition button?
__________________
Emilie W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
FRED SMAILES's Avatar
 
Name: Fred
Trailer: 13 ft Boler
Kootenay's of BC
Posts: 624
Registry
Ours has quit a couple of times.
Someone on the forum here suggested I remove the fridge and invert it
for 24 hrs.
I did that and it started working again. I have done this twice over several years.
This is also a Tedco 3 way fridge.
Fred
__________________
FRED SMAILES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
FRED SMAILES's Avatar
 
Name: Fred
Trailer: 13 ft Boler
Kootenay's of BC
Posts: 624
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emilie W. View Post
Thanks for your responses. I tried getting it to run on propane, but I'm not sure if I'm doing it correctly. I follow the instructions, hold down the ignition button, depress the switch, and the flame comes on. I hold it for 20+ seconds, but when I release it the flame goes out. I've done this several times. Is the flame that I see supposed to go out, and is it maybe that the burner inside is on? Or should the flame stay lit after I release the ignition button?
U may need to clean or replace the thermal couple sensor
When the pilot light is on it heats the sensor, if the sensor is dirty or faulty it won't allow the pilot light to remain on. It's a safety feature in the propane side of the system.
fred
__________________
FRED SMAILES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 05:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Name: Denis
Trailer: trillium 15
Ontario
Posts: 33
could be a few things ???

the problem could be various things . probly best to have it looked at by someone who knows a bit about it . . Fred i have taken the trailer for a bumpy ride and solved it that way , saves taking the unit out . have fun finding out whats up with it ..
__________________
trilliumdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 04:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Name: Joe
Trailer: 1999 Casita 17' SD
Ohio
Posts: 553
Emilie.

For your propane flame going out it's most likely just a dirty jet that can be cleaned.

That's a yearly maintenance thing.

As Denis suggested "best to have it looked at by someone who knows a bit about it".

Turning it upside down will not help your problem on gas or electric.

Joe
__________________
Joe Romas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 07:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Perry J's Avatar
 
Name: John
Trailer: 16' Casita
California
Posts: 975
Send a message via AIM to Perry J Send a message via Yahoo to Perry J
Try holding the bypass button in for a longer period of time.
The thermocouple has to get warm enough to send a signal to the gas valve.


If the flame goes out after holding it in for a minute or so you may simply need a new thermocouple which is not expensive, difficult to change and are available at any hardware store..


If you have a flame when pressing the button your finger is doing what the thermocouple should do.
__________________

__________________
Perry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boler, refrigerator


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How COLD is too COLD Gerry General Chat 11 02-05-2011 12:06 AM
HELPPPP.... I need a heater it's getting cold Coach George Jessup Classified Archives 7 10-26-2008 07:10 AM
getting cold in CO but.... ronsmith100 General Chat 4 10-08-2008 09:32 PM
Wife is getting cold feet. Help! Steve R General Chat 34 11-30-2007 11:24 AM
whole milk you do not have to keep cold John Perry Camp Cooking, Food & Recipes 10 07-07-2007 09:34 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.