Camping with a Dog - Fiberglass RV

Old 05-17-2012, 06:09 PM   #1

Name: Ginny
Trailer: 2011 Scamp 13 ft.
Massachusetts
Registry
Camping with a Dog

I'm new to both travel trailers and dogs. How do people deal with bringing a dog to a campground? I'd like to bring my little guy with us but I'm concerned about what to do if my husband and I want to visit a museum or local attraction. I know hotels forbid leaving a dog alone. Do campgrounds enforce the same types of rules? Can I leave a dog in a 13 ft Scamp or would it get too hot? Thanks!

Old 05-17-2012, 06:18 PM   #2

Trailer: 2007 Casita
Some allow, because they understand. But some don't allow it, because they have had abuse of it. Yapping dog for hours on end, displeases most of your camping neighbors.

Can it get too hot? Yup! Any rv is gonna be like a car. Can get hot real fast! I use to leave the air on for the pups. The noise kept them from barking at every twig that crunched and kept them comfortable. Good luck! Enjoy!

Old 05-17-2012, 06:31 PM   #3

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 77 Scamp 13
Michigan
Guess it would depend on how your own dog will react to the situation of being left behind, and in the camper alone. State park might be a good "testing" ground where you can leave for a little while and come back, then do it again later for a little longer. Check with your neighbors to find out about any barking, how loud and how long.

I have found dogs we have owned seem to appreciate having their crates from home as a "safe" place, plus we avoid the screens being scratched at. Or god forbid a squirrel or chipmonk should be spotted. 700 years of being bred to kill rodents is not going to be held back by anything attached to an 1/8 inch of fiberglass.
Old 05-17-2012, 06:33 PM   #4

Name: Byron
Trailer: 2006 Scamp 13' towed with a 2005 Dodge Dakota 4.7l Magnum W/full tow package (over kill)
Oregon
Registry
I've watched people with dogs while camping and read campground rules here's my observations.