Can I plug my camper into a regular house outlet? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-21-2019, 09:19 AM   #1

Name: Lisle
Trailer: 2018 Casita Spirit Deiuxe
Massachusetts
Registry
Can I plug my camper into a regular house outlet?

My Casita 16' uses 30amps at campgrounds. Is that what comes out of a regular electrical outlet or would I need special wiring at my home base to plug the camper in to recharge? This could be obvious to many, but I'm a newbie with alot of questions.
Lisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 09:38 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
The amp rating of the outlet represents the most current you can safely draw at one time. It doesn’t mean you’ll always pull that much. It depends on what you’re running. Think of it this way: the outlet doesn’t pump out current, you suck current. A 30A outlet is a bigger straw. A 15A or 20A outlet is a smaller straw.

For fridge, lights, battery charging, a 15A or 20A outlet will be fine. If you plan to run A/C, an electric heater, or a microwave you might have a problem, especially if you’re running more than one of them at the same time. If you try to draw too much current through a household outlet, the breaker will trip in the house, nothing worse (unless you happen to have a loose connection in the outlet, which happened to me once and came close to starting a fire- faulty installation by a professional electrician).

Remember if you’re going to run high wattage appliances, the extension cord also needs to be short and rated for the current.
Jon in AZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 09:46 AM   #3

Name: Dave
Trailer: 2013Escape 21
Iowa