Can't keep RM2193 running on propane when going down the road - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-12-2015, 08:10 PM   #1

Name: Curt
Trailer: scamp
Texas
Can't keep RM2193 running on propane when going down the road

So I am new to the Scamp and so far everything on my 2010 13 standard with bath has been flawless. One thing is not working though... I cannot for the life of me keep the RM2193 Fridge going in Propane mode when driving down the road. It of course works in all 3 modes including 12v but will not stay lit on propane while driving. My old RVfridge had no trouble doing it. I guess it's safer using 12v but I don't have a hot wire running from the car to the trailer battery and using 12v probably would not last very long going down the road. Any suggestions are welcome! Love the forum by the way.
scamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 09:13 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Is the metal cover in place that covers the gas burner area?
You might want to do a total cleaning of the jet, burner, and the flue above the burner including removing and cleaning the turbulator. It's all in the Dometic Manual.

One more thought, have the pressure on the output side of the LP regulator checked as well. A weak flame will work when parked, but may blow out easier. I have that same unit in my Hunter and it stays on all the time.

Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 12:14 AM   #3

Name: Curt
Trailer: scamp
Texas
Thanks Bob, I will be sure to check the regulator and clean everything.
scamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 08:33 AM   #4

Name: Peggy
Trailer: Escape 5.0TA
Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by scamp View Post