Circuit Breaker overload? - Fiberglass RV

Old 05-16-2007, 06:57 PM   #1

Trailer: Trillium 4500
Hi Everyone,

I recently bought a run of the mill small ceramic heater (1500w) for my Trillium. Every time I run it (on shore power/ transformer) the circuit breaker trips, although when I run it at the medium setting it seems to stay running. I have the original "Progressive Dynamics" power converter which came standard in the Trilliums. Is there something I should be looking for in order to stop this, or is this the norm? Am I just overloading it on high or should this be running OK and I need to check wiring?

I am new to this all so sorry if the question is obvious.

Thanks, Torrey

Old 05-16-2007, 07:40 PM   #2

Name: Brian
Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979
Alberta
My ceramic heater does seem to run at a lower power level on the lower settings (rather than just cycling on and off for less average power, like a microwave oven) so my guess is that the full 1500W level is just too much current. At 120V, that would be 12.5 amps, and I have heard of some trailer power panels with 10 amp breakers. What is the rating on the breaker, and what else is on at the same time?

Also, circuit breakers can get "tired" with age, and start tripping at lower than intended current, which certainly is preferably to allowing more current! I have changed breakers in my house to a new breaker of the same design and rating and had them stop tripping; I have had the same experience with the breakers in the 12VDC system in my Boler.

Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 07:57 PM   #3

Thanks Brian.

The circuit breaker is 15 amp, however according to the manual the "Output Amps" is 9.0 not sure how that relates). Only the lights are running at the same time.
Old 05-16-2007, 09:16 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp 13 ft
A 10 amp breaker? After searching several local sources for such an item, I became convinced that 15 amps was the lowest possible.
Old 05-16-2007, 09:33 PM   #5