Converter & Fuse Panel - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 08:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Nita F.'s Avatar
 
Trailer: Bigfoot
Posts: 149
Thumbs up

I've got a '97 scamp and need to replace the stock converter (Magnetek). It has a built in fuse panel (5 fuses). The previous owner already bought an Intellipower PD9130 that does not have a built in fuse panel. It does have the charge wizard.

My question is, can you use an automotive accessory fuse block to fuse the system? If so, is there anything that I should know about this?

I believe the chassis of the converter has a seperate ground from the ground (negative) to the circuits. The positives will go to the fuse block and the negitive goes directly to the converter.

I have spent a couple of hours on the internet searching for a rv fuse panel without much luck.

Any suggestions?

Marty, Nita's other half
__________________

__________________
Nita F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 12:00 AM   #2
Member
 
Fred Bell's Avatar
 
Trailer: Scamp 13 ft
Posts: 33
I found a fuse panel at an RV parts supply store. It uses the traditional glass fuses and holds enough of them for about 8 circuits. I have 2 circuits for lights, 2 circuits for accessories, then separate circuits for the radio, water pump and heater. It's mounted next to the converter.
__________________

__________________
Fred Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 10:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Brian B-P's Avatar
 
Name: Brian
Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979
Alberta
Posts: 5,000
I can't think of any reason why a fuse block would need to be specific to RVs. It's just 12VDC power, as in a car.

I would not use a fuse block designed for the traditional glass-tube (3AG) fuses, because I greatly prefer to use the plastic-bodied blade-style (ATO) fuses which have been standard in cars for over two decades. That's a personal preference; some people find it easier to see whether a fuse is blown or not in the glass design, for instance. Blocks for both types of fuses are available from various automotive sources, as well as for the smaller blade-type fuses which are now common (and are too small for my tastes).

My original-equipment Boler converter has no fuses, and no proper distribution panel: the converter output is wired through three panel-mount circuit breakers which are mounted through holes in the front panel of the converter.

I like the idea of breakers, although the ones in my Boler are annoying in that they have a push-to-reset button, but no way to turn them off like a switch; fuses can be pulled to kill power for troubleshooting or maintenance. Ideally, I would prefer more circuits, and breakers which I can switch; I haven't looked for this type of product yet, since I'll probably keep my original converter as long as it works.

Go-RV / Coast has fuse panels, on the same catalog page as my breakers, for both styles of fuse: from the brand name, I would guess some of them were designed for marine use. Whatever the source, I would consider whether the cover (or lack thereof) is appropriate for use in the trailer.
__________________
1979 Boler B1700RGH, pulled by 2004 Toyota Sienna LE 2WD
Information is good. Lack of information is not so good, but misinformation is much worse. Check facts, and apply common sense liberally.
STATUS: No longer active in forum.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 11:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Trailer: 17 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe
Posts: 257
This link might be useful.

http://home.comcast.net/~rabarber/magnetek.htm
__________________
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 01:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jrnutpaul's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1994 20 ft Bigfoot 5th Wheel / Toyota Tacoma SR5
Posts: 229
That's exactly what I did....using the existing fuse panel and just wiring in the charge wizard converter. Works great!!!

Paul
__________________
jrnutpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:44 AM   #6
Suz
Senior Member
 
Suz's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1989 Casita Spirit Deluxe
Posts: 2,055
Registry
Quote:
That's exactly what I did....using the existing fuse panel and just wiring in the charge wizard converter. Works great!!!

Paul
Ditto here! Replaced mine with a PD9145. I think the instructions I used were the same ones on the link that Nick posted. It took me a couple of days to get up the courage to do it, but once I got into it, it was very easy and straight forward!

I've always said, it was one of the easiest and best mods I have done!
__________________

__________________
Suz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main fuse? Wilder Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 2 12-21-2009 11:17 PM
FOR SALE: Power Converter w/ Panel Greta Martin Classified Archives 0 07-06-2006 04:07 PM
Invertor fuse Taylor Kissinger Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 0 03-03-2006 05:02 PM
fuse panel Rick and Shannen Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 24 02-23-2006 12:55 PM
Fuse Box Wiring HELP PLEASE!! shawnswan Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 10 02-07-2006 04:06 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.