Depreciation Rate of Scamps - Fiberglass RV

Old 08-07-2014, 11:07 AM   #1

Name: Luke
Trailer: Casita
Upper Midwest
Depreciation Rate of Scamps

Hello,

I am in the market for a used scamp and I was wondering if anyone knows what a scamps depreciation rate is? Any ideas? Thanks!

Old 08-07-2014, 11:11 AM   #2
MC1

Name: Wayne
Trailer: Nest fan, Airstream Sold
Ontario
I'm not an expert on Scamps like many other forum members but from what I have seen locally (Kijiji etc) once they reach a certain age the depreciation is minimal if not at all, assuming the condition of the trailer is kept up.

Old 08-07-2014, 11:27 AM   #3

Name: Wendy Lee
Trailer: Scamp 13' Standard
New York
Registry
If you might be willing to share the scamp you're looking for (13, 16 or 5er, standard or deluxe), year/age you're looking for as well as options important to you, I'm sure we could give you a ballpark of what range you might expect to pay.

Alternatively, you could share what you'd like to spend as well. Also depends on condition if trailer, as has already been stated. In general, FG trailers like scamps hold their value as compared to stick built trailers, and are a wonderful investment.

Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV
Old 08-07-2014, 11:30 AM   #4

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Luke,

Depreciation is a funny term. You need to consider inflation and the value of the dollar.

We paid $6000 for a 20 year our 1991 Scamp 16 about 4 years ago. I would not be surprised if our $6000 purchase price is not far from the cost of a new Scamp 20 years ago. (I have no idea what a 1991 Scamp 16 cost only what it costs today.)

The value the US dollar has decreased by at least a 1/4 in the last 8 years. Inflation, you know if you do food shopping, is on the rise.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 11:44 AM   #5

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 77 Scamp 13
Michigan