Didn't like "feel" of 1998 16' Scamp vs. Casita 17' Build Quality? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-30-2015, 11:21 PM   #1

Name: Ed
Trailer: Scamp (wannabe)
Illinois
Question Didn't like "feel" of 1998 16' Scamp vs. Casita 17' Build Quality?

I'm just starting to look for an egg to call our own. I've been researching Scotty Highlanders for about 4 years and ended up at an Escape rally a few weeks ago and think I'm going fiberglass now (shocked at the build differences vs. 2009 "newish" Scotty Highlander). Today I went and inspected a Scamp 16 (layout 3) and was less than impressed with the through the wall rivets and overall build quality compared to the Escapes and Casitas I saw at the rally (some newer, a few older). Is there really that much difference in build quality? I'm looking for a egg for my wife and me (no bathroom, don't like them in a trailer) to tow behind either our 2006 6 cylinder Jeep Liberty or our 2006 Ford E350 full ton 12 passenger van. We are both "not insubstantial" (and 5'10" or less) and like open plan layouts best (layout 7 on the Scamps & Liberty or Freedom). I searched the site already and it seems people are saying they are both equal - but I can't seem to reconcile that with what I saw today... Help! Ed
Carters Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 12:42 AM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon
My opinion - I've had all three - the Scamp is the low end of the quality scale, Casita is in the middle. Escape is very different as there are no rivets, the glass work and construction is far sturdier.