Dumping tanks and bath window leak - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2015, 12:52 PM   #1

Name: Peter
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Dumping tanks and bath window leak

Hi all,

New to this site and have a couple of questions.

I am new to the RV ownership world (although I have rented several times) and am anxiously awaiting the arrival of a beauty of a 2010 fiver this weekend. Been looking to purchase for quite some time and have finally decided to take the plunge!!

First of all, I have never seen a rig with separate valves to dump the grey and black tanks. Wondering about two things... one is how does one manage to move the hose to the grey valve after freshly dumping the black tank? With great care I would imagine, but perhaps there are other helpful tips here. Also, has anyone done a modification to tie the two values together?

There is also evidence of leaking around the bathroom window. The unit has a side bath floor plan. The person I am purchasing from says this a very common problem with Scamps, but I have yet to find a post on this forum regarding this specific bathroom window issue.

Any feedback on these questions would be greatly appreciated.

As a new Scamp owner, I am looking forward to gleaning a wealth of information from the good and helpful folks posting on this forum. I have already discovered some juicy ideas to remodel the gaucho/loft area!!
Peter S. in Iowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 01:18 PM   #2

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
About the tanks, carefully I suppose. When I first read about the bathroom window leak I carefully examined my bathroom wall and noticed bubbles in the wallboard which may be indicative of water intrusion, or not. My floor underneath shows no signs of trouble so I am not too worried about it. Welcome and good luck with your Scamp!