electrical - 4 way vs 7 way - questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2009, 01:47 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Hi everyone, I am a real green newbie. Thanks for your forum, I am learning a lot but one thing I have run across is this issue.

I just got my towing package installed onmy Saturn VUE and am looking for a trailer.

The VUE has a standard 4-flat electrical hookup, which of course powers the tail and brake lights. Apparently, through talking to my dealer, this is the load VUE can handle - not the 7 way.

I am now looking for a Scamp or similar and keep running across them - especially 16 foot Scamps, which I am most interested in - with seven way connectors, which I assume powers the tail, brake, backup and probably a charge to the battery in the trailer.

One guy with this setup told me you could convert down from 7 way on the car but not like I need to. I don't see why not. If the trailer has a seven way there are adapters that convert from four (vehicle) to seven (trailer). I see them online. Of course, the battery and back up lights will not be powered, but that shouldn't be an issue.

Anyway, does anyone know why there is such a variety of hookups for electrical on Scamps? Or are people just incapable of describing tham to me through emails? I have heard 7-round, 7-flat, 7-RV, and "I don't know".

I'm willing to drive out of state (California) to pick one up but this question needs solving first before I arrive and discover I can't hook one up.

Any pointers in general on these issues are greatly appreciated. It may be addressed in scattered threads elsewhere on the forum but like I said I'm pretty green here and I just started reading this site. Haven't finished searchin you uet.

Thanks and happy roads,

Dale
DaleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 02:06 PM   #2

Trailer: 2000 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe