Electrical problems with Scamp 13' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2008, 11:29 PM   #1

Trailer: 1991 Scamp 13 ft
Hey all,

I'm new to scamping and have recently purchased a used 13' scamp from an older lady who never used the trailer. It is a 1991 model with the shower option in front. The problem I am having is when I am operating the trailer on 12v battery, the interior lights do not work, except for the one in the shower area, also the 2 speed roof fan works as well, even the water pump and furnace works. But when I disconnect the battery, and run the trailer on 110v, everything works fine. The battery is new, a deep cycle rv battery recommended by the local Napa guy. I checked all the fuses and they are fine as well. The ground wire from the power converter under the bench is tight and grounded to the frame properly. But the oddest thing of all is when I first installed the new battery everything worked fine for about 5 minutes, then the interior lights did not work at all. Then after fooling around checking all the connections, fuses etc. they came back on for only about 5 min then off again. I finally had enough and had this big family camping trip to go on in the next few days and decided to just deal with the issues and take some battery powered lights. Well I am now back at home and have this issue to deal with, I am now considering taking the trailer to a rv technician and have them figure it out, but decided to try here first, to see if anyone had any similar problems. Sorry for my long-winded question, but any help would be appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Russell

P.S. I love the trailer and cant wait to use it more often, It also looks pretty funny pulling the trailer with my 2006 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited, I should post some pics for you guys to see.
Russell E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:05 AM   #2