Ensolite - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-13-2013, 10:32 PM   #1

Name: Carla
Trailer: Tote N Tarry
Washington
Ensolite

I am new to the fiberglass trailer world. Just learning and having fun. I bought a 1973 Tote and Tarry. Fairly good condition. I am remodeling it and having a great time (Love it). I can't wait till the weather gets just a little better for camping.

Questions: The foamy insulation material on the ceiling and walls (Is it called Ensolite) is drooping off the ceiling (pulling away from the fiberglass). There is also a small amount of the Ensolite missing, but I think I can steal a little from under the sink area for patching. How would you suggest I reattach it to the fiberglass? Also quite a bit of the seam tape is missing. I found a roll from a scamp dealer on the internet, but it doesn't stick at all. Any ideas?

I did use some caulking to fill in gaps. And tried to use the tape with the caulking, hoping the caulking would help it stick (wrong). I didn't think of painting the ensolite ( I just saw the suggestion in some older posts). What type paint would you suggest using?

Any help is appreciated.
Carla
CSimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:49 PM   #2

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1976, 1978, 1979, 1300 - 1977, and a 1973
Alberta
Registry
Ensolite is glued to the fibreglass with contact cement. When it separates, it is necessary to clean off the old glue from both the fibreglass and the Ensolite. To do this it is necessary to free up a flap, so you can get under the Ensolite. This may require shaving the Ensolite away from the fibreglass to expose the underside.