Excessive Trailer Movement - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2007, 11:21 AM   #1

Trailer: Hunter Compact II
Send a message via Yahoo to mikecontos
Hey all,
I am pulling a Hunter Compact II behind my 2002 Subaru outback wagon. I have not pulled many trailers in my lifetime, so I have little experience to quantify here, BUT:This little baby seems to want to move around quite a bit, especially up at around 60MPH. Common sense tells me to keep her around 50-55 and it is usually ok. The registration lists this trailer at only 200 pounds unloaded, so I am probably up at around 4-500 pounds all geared up.
Is this just a common occurrence for such a light trailer, and is my best defense to keep the speed down?
Love to hear from you all!
Thanks
mikecontos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:17 PM   #2

Trailer: 1975 13 ft Trillium
Registry
Your load 'could' be improperly distributed in the trailer.

You could have a bad axle (out of align)
Doug Mager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:26 PM   #3

Trailer: Casita 16 ft 1984 and U-Haul CT13 1985
Registry
Quote:
Hey all,
I am pulling a Hunter Compact II behind my 2002 Subaru outback wagon... This little baby seems to want to move around quite a bit, especially up at around 60MPH... The registration lists this trailer at only 200 pounds unloaded, so I am probably up at around 4-500 pounds all geared up.
Hi Mike,

I'm no expert on Compact II's, but it seems incredible to me that it would only weigh 200 lbs. Could that be possible??? I suspect that someone at the DMV made a mistake...