FGRV Newbie - Some Questions - Fiberglass RV

Old 06-29-2007, 05:38 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp
Hi, As the title says I'm new to the whole FGRV experience so new in fact that I don't even have a RV yet! However I am going to look at a 1998 Scamp 13' this weekend (a basic model , not many extras w/ the front bunks) they're asking a little under 5k for it Question #1: Is it a good price for a basic '98 Scamp in good condition? I don't know? Question #2: If I end up getting it I'll be using a Honda Element to pull it... If I can? The spec's say I should be able to but I'm not sure about the real world implementation any advice? Question 3#: I going to have to install a hitch on my Element spec's indicate I could probably get a way with a Class I hitch with also matches up with the Element's limited towing capacity but would I be better off and safer moving up to a class III hitch? I have no idea as I've been hitchless for a long time!

Any advice or opinions would be appreciated!

Eric

Old 06-29-2007, 05:54 PM   #2

Name: Gina D.
Trailer: '77 Leocraft 17 & Former Burro owner and fan!
West Coast USA
Registry
Hi Eric,

I can't answer your pricing question, but I can answer your Element question (As can MANY others on this board)

I towed a 1450lb Burro with my 2wd Element for a long time, and I had a class 1 hitch.

Altho I was within the limits, I was squeaking by with the class 1 and wish I had done a class 3.

Mine was an EX automatic, and I had a tranny cooler installed as well.

You will do fine, with brakes on the trailer. Does this one have them?

Old 06-29-2007, 06:03 PM   #3

Thanks Gina for the very quick and helpful reply! I don't believe the traler has brakes hopefully that won't be too much of a problem (I don't think Scamp offered brakes as an option on the 13'). I'm glad to hear that the Element did okay and I will take youe advice and go with the Class III hitch.

If I could take this opportunity to add a Question #3.5 for any Scamp owners: