Finally, a new shelf delivered - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2007, 04:36 PM   #1

Trailer: Scamp 13 ft
Send a message via Yahoo to Candi Woods
Okay, I thought I was pretty handy with the tools. But, I don't want to make a mistake with the scamps' fiberglass shell so I'm humbly asking someone to talk me through putting in the new back shelf I just got from the factory. Supposedly all of the needed hardware was sent but I'm just new to this rivet business. Screws I can figure out. Do I drill a hole and then insert the rivet?

By the way, shipping cost almost the same as the shelf itself, and it was not a cheap item. Yikes! But, it will look the same as the front so the interior will, at least, be consistent.
If I had made the shelf myself it probably would not have turned out as nicely as it will with the factory made one.

On a side note, I've been washing and waxing the scamp and it's amazing what a meticulous wax job will do to shine up the thing up. Water just beads up, too. Like I've said before, my volkswagen bug and my camper are in better shape than anything in my house!

Candi
Candi Woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 05:56 PM   #2

Anyone there?

Anyway, I figured out how to use the rivets, thanks to a mechanic friend of mine. He also loaned me the rivet gun. With his help, my husband and I installed the shelf in less than thirty minutes.

Candi
Old 04-01-2007, 07:19 PM   #3

Trailer: Surfside TM14 1974
Registry
Was riveting easy? Do you like the results?

- Miriam
Miriam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 10:55 PM   #4

Quote:
Was riveting easy? Do you like the results?

- Miriam