Framing an interior? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2017, 10:42 AM   #1

Name: Jack
Trailer: Boler
Framing an interior?

Hello everyone, I am looking at purchasing a gutted Boler 15' trailer. I was thinking I would like to frame the interior (seemingly a challenge with curves) and create a rib structure so I could insulate in between the potentially light weight redwood 2x2's and have a solid surface to possible attach a 1/8" plywood where the cabinets are not.. I was planning to engineer upper cabinets to be supported by lower cabinets for support in some areas. Does anyone have any experience with this approach? I am assuming the big challenge would be fitting the curves and gluing the 2x2's to the interior with no clamps. Is this approach viable? I am a newbie to the trailer restoration world. Pics of previous interior re-builds from a gutted interior would be appreciated much! Thanks ! Jack
Jackbeback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 11:03 AM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escape— 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
I would be more inclined to take strips of 3/4 plywood and cut saw kerfs in the plywood . The kerfs will allow the plywood to bend to the curvature of the trailer and they can be attached to the fiberglass with construction adhesive
I see no advantage in using redwood 2x2's especially at the price of redwood
3/4" foil faced foam (R5) could be used between the plywood strips and should be enough thermal break for a small trailer.
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 11:21 AM   #3
Commercial Member

Name: Mike
Trailer: Boler13/trillium4500/buro13
Ontario
The effort to do that will far exceed the benefit "imo" but anything is possible .
Mikmay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 11:22 AM   #4

Brilliant !