Fridge - Fiberglass RV

Old 10-27-2014, 07:33 AM   #1

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2014 16 scamp side dinette/Rav4 V6 Tow pkg.
Pennsylvania
Fridge

OK, let me get this correct. If i run my small 1.9 fridge on 12V while traveling about 3 hours at a time and reach a CG with power and plug in i should be fine.
What i should not expect is to run my fridge on 12v and reach a CG without power and have enough 12V power to sustain our stay. It just seems kind of dumb to have 12V fridge and not be able to ever use it. Just wondering. Carl

Old 10-27-2014, 07:54 AM   #2

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
First let me say I have no firsthand experience with a 3-way refrigerator, or most any other kind of 3-way for that matter. Mine was inoperative when I got my Scamp and it got pulled. That said, I suspect from what little I know of these things that 12V is probably the most inefficient way to run one. They need heat, and burning a gas (propane) seems to be the way to go. Unless you have shore power and then since unlimited 120v is “on tap” that would be the way to go. I would be interested just for informational and educational purposes to know what the amp/watt draw is on a 3-way running on 12v. Maybe somebody knowledgable about them will be along.

Old 10-27-2014, 08:18 AM   #3
CPW

Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Flori-duh!
Registry
A lot depends on how efficient the tow vehicle is in getting current to the battery in the trailer while on the road. Several factors involved, probably among the most important, wire gauge from the tug to the trailer. You can always get a portable solar panel to plug into system upon arrival at the CG without electricity. Or retrofit solar. Not a problem for me as I ran 10 gauge wire from the truck and within some of the trailers I owned w/3-ways. Also, my general rule of thumb is "if it don't have electricity, I ain't staying there." But that's me. Others have different preferences.

Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV