Furnace removal - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2009, 07:46 AM   #1

Trailer: Boler
Is there a good way to remove a furnace?I have a Wagonmaster that I want gone,and removed the faceplate/grill,removed 4 screws from the fibreglass surround,and the sucker doesn't move,not a fraction.Anyone successfully,cleanly and without severe blood loss have the method down?I don't have the original schematics for this beast,so I have no idea what to do from here.
Waiting with bated breath..
Rick
Rick Harmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:48 AM   #2

Trailer: U-Haul CT13 ('Pearl')
I just pulled an old heater out of my Uhaul. It had a vent tube that was attached and really rusty. I had to remove the outside vent to get it out. Not only that, it weighed about 25 pounds! Hope a boler owner can help you more. Good Luck!
Pat B Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:04 PM   #3

Trailer: Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
I just removed a Dou-Therm (non/ fan furnace) from a slide in pick-up camper this weekend. I had to remove the outside vent cover. Then there is a metal housing which attaches to the camper skin this is the air intake and in the center is the exhaust vent. The exhaust pipe was attached to the intake with two brackets by pan head secews. After removing the screws, I had to bend the brackets out of the way, then I was able to pull the furnace out with exhaust pipe attached to the furnace. Of course I had removed several screws from around the furnace on the inside the trailer earlier. Hope this helps. Mine was also pretty heavy.
Eddie
Eddie Longest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:41 PM   #4

Trailer: 1973 Compact Jr
Some people would dearly love to have that Wagonmaster, but only if it is still usable.