Generators and SUV's?? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-16-2017, 03:40 PM   #1

Name: Betsy
Trailer: dreaming. . .
Illinois
Generators and SUV's??

Hi,

Would eventually like to buy a generator to make boondocking in a TT possible. Was more interested in towing using an SUV rather than a truck, but wondering how do people use generators if they don't have an open bed truck to store them in? Do they remove them from the trunk of their SUV? Sounds like if one goes with a 3000 watt generator you risk back injury or if you go with two 2000 watt generators you risk loss due to theft?

Any ideas? One has to run a diesel or propane fueled generator outside of a vehicle right? Sorry I'm a newbie trying to figure out best configuration.

Thanks,

Betsy
RosaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 03:42 PM   #2

Name: Huck
Trailer: ParkLiner
Virginia
What do you plan to run on the generator?
Huck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 03:48 PM   #3

Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escape— 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
We camp off grid or boondock without a generator
We have a solar panel to charge our trailer battery which works well
We have a full size truck but we fill the truck bed with things we actually need and use camping

Good Luck

I would get a 10 KW diesel generator to insure all your power needs are met plus you will gain the love and respect of all those camping around you ��
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 03:50 PM   #4

Illinois
I think it would be nice to have the option to run AC on it if we were full timing. . . That I understand is the biggest draw.
Old 09-16-2017, 03:55 PM   #5

Illinois