Grease gun question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2016, 10:06 AM   #1

Name: Henry
Trailer: BigFoot
Tennessee
Grease gun question

I am in the process of injecting new grease into my Casita's EZ lube wheel bearings. Why is it that when I squirt about half a 14 ox canister of grease thn the grease gun goes limp and will not inject any more. I then put in a new grease cartridge and I am again able to get grease to go into the EZ zert with a bit of pressure. Looking at the discarded cartridge, it looks about 1/3 to 1/2 full. That seems like a lot of wasted grease. This is my first time putting grease into the EZ lube bearings. I never noticed this when using bearing buddies or lubing the chassis of my lawnmower.

Do I need a new grease gun? If so any recommendations? Or what am I doing wrong.
Rzrbrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 10:44 AM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
Sounds like the spring loaded plunger on the grease gun is sticking in the grease cartridge. Sometimes too you have to get the air out of the gun when installing a new cartridge or it won't put out any grease. A couple of my grease guns have a bleeder on the top, others just have a plug. When the gun stops putting out any grease, pull the plunger handle out and let it back in a couple times, see if that helps. And now we can start the discussion of grease gun versus pulling the hubs, cleaning, inspecting bearings and brakes, and hand greasing
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 10:51 AM   #3

Name: Z
Trailer: Sasquatch
Montana
Grease guns are a bit temperamental, in my experience...
ZachO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 11:39 AM   #4

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Florida
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by mary and bob View Post