Help with installing front window rock guard - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2012, 07:31 PM   #1

Name: Matt
Trailer: 13' Scamp
Washington
Help with installing front window rock guard

Hi, I am very new to this and need help with installing a rock guard. I ordered the one from scamp, it came with all the mounting hardware, but essentially no instructions.
I need help with the most basic parts of this, like how to put in the rivets. Do I drill a hole first? Do I need to buy a rivet gun to place them?
It's embarassing to know so little about something, and I appreciate any help.

On a separate and somewhat related note, It looks like none of the rivets on my 13' Scamp have the pop-on caps. Do I really need to replace rivets to put these on? Can I use caulk over the rivet heads instead, and if so what type would be best? Again, thank you all.
mdboucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:58 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Okay, lets talk about the rivets on the trailer first. Do the rivets have a clear "dished" portion around every rivet? If so, the caps just snap on over that dished portion... that's why they're called snap caps. You CAN put a touch of good caulk in the cap and push them on... but remember, someday you'll want to remove them (like when they fall apart because of UVs), so don't use anything 'permanent."

I too added an after market gravel guard from Scamp and yes, I drilled the holes. I first added the hardware to the shield and used stainless bolts and nuts there. Then I duct taped the shield to the window area and used a pencil to mark the upper holes. Once I had the shield mounted to the trailer at the top, I drilled the holes for the bottom hardware. Small steps, think logically and work methodically.