How to solve registration / transportation catch 22? Help! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-25-2009, 02:43 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Thumbs up

I am about to be the proud owner of a 99 Scamp 16. Hurrah!!
I am a Vermont resident, visiting Idaho, and I will drive to Oregon to get the camper. Ugh!!

I can't buy the camper until I go to see it (10 hr drive). I can't register it until I buy it, and I can't tow it after buying it cause it will take 20 days to get the plates after providing the documentation etc etc.

In short, I have no plates for towing it, and can't get any until I've completed the sale which would mean two 10 hour trips. One to buy, and one to tow once plates arrive.

I wonder if others have faced this situation? Can anyone help? Am I missing some very obvious solution??

Michael D

Michael D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:55 PM   #2

Trailer: Trails West Campster 1970
Registry
Check on getting some kind of temporary operating permit. The downside is you might need one for each state- some states recognize the others, some don't.
Bobbie Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:04 PM   #3

Trailer: 1984 U-Haul
We just bought a camper in Michigan. They do not have plates for small trailers in that state and they don't give out temp. plates or registrations.