How to trouble shoot a leak - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-06-2013, 10:01 AM   #1

Name: Courtney
Trailer: 1982 13ft Scamp purchased on May 2nd
Georgia
How to trouble shoot a leak

Need advice on how to trouble shoot a leak. I am a complete novice and will need it spelled out for me. Here's what I walked into the other afternoon:

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-232845348.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	58765

The trailer was sitting tilted back. It's all cleaned up and dry now and is safe in the garage.
courtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:31 AM   #2

Name: Francesca Knowles
Trailer: '78 Trillium 4500
Jefferson County, Washington State, U.S.A.
Registry
If there's no evidence of water running down the walls, it may have crept in at the base...does the siding go down below the floor level on the outside of the trailer, or does it appear to stop/rest on the floor?

Francesca
Francesca Knowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:01 PM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
I assume this is a leak on the Little Guy teardrop. I think they are known to have leak issues at the seams or hatch. The problem with leaks is that water will travel from the source to where you see it, making it difficult to find where it originates. If snow laid on it, that could cause water to back up rather than run off, just like on a house roof. Have you asked this question over on the tnttt site, it's more related to there and should be a source of answers specific to your trailer. We also have a teardrop, but it's a vintage one, 1946, no wood other than the floor and hatch ribs.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:41 PM   #4

Georgia
Nope, sold Little Guy. This is on my 1982 13' Scamp.
Old 05-06-2013, 12:47 PM   #5

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry