I can't get the furnace going again - 1976 trilluim - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2018, 09:29 PM   #1

Name: Thierry
Trailer: Trillium '76
BC
I can't get the furnace going again - 1976 trilluim

Hey campers,

My 1976 Trillium came with an old furnace. I managed to run it before I left home, but I'm now in the Rockies and I can't get it going.
Propane is definitely getting to it. If I depress the pilot light button, it can hold a flame, but the pilot light won't stay on. It'll quickly die off, even if I wait 3 minutes before releasing the pilot button.

I simply would like the furnace to work, even if I have to start it up manually.
Turning the valve to ON and bringing a flame to it doesn't do anything. Is there a system preventing the furnace to start like that?

I'm a noob, I need guidance. I'm cooold. Thank God I have warm blankets!

Here is what it looks like
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pW571WiGr6LF9zjrXpcyKCQ-yt4G-SEi/view?usp=drivesdk
thimith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 09:37 AM   #2

Name: sharon
Trailer: Scamp
Virginia
I’m sorry you’re cold, I kno how miserable that is. It sounds like the Thermo couple is dirty or has gone bad. For safety reasons you can’t bypass it & shouldn’t try. Try to find a hvac guy that can help you. YouTube vids might help too. Good luck!
sharon_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 10:59 AM   #3

Name: Daryl and Wendy
Trailer: 1973 Trillium 1300
British Columbia
Registry
gas furnace thermocouple

When the pilot lights but wouldn't stay lit; it's likely the thermocouple. It's the short pencil looking thing the pilot flame burns against. Chances are that it has failed and needs to be replaced.

They are commonly available. Although t's best to take the failed unit to correctly match the replacement.