Is There a 2 Sided 110 Plug In Out There? - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
barryra's Avatar
 
Name: Barry
Trailer: 1993 13 ft Scamp
Minnesota
Posts: 198
Registry
Is There a 2 Sided 110 Plug In Out There?

I want to add a 110 plug in to the outside upper right side of the closet for a small flat screen & am puting the dish reciever on a shelf in the upper inside of the closet & need to have that plugged in. Is there a plug in that's 2 sided so I can plug in the reciever from inside the closet & the tv outside it without having to add a seperate plug? I have called Home Depot & Menards.
__________________

__________________
barryra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ed Harris's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2002 Casita Freedom Deluxe,The driveway is a Dark & Lonely Place now!
Missouri
Posts: 1,776
Since you really need to install 110 receptacles in a box I would just wire 2 back to back or side by side facing opposite directions to get this done.

Another way I have done this is to make a splice inside an outlet box from the incoming power directly to the 2 cords you need removing the end of them that would plug into an outlet.

I don't encourage doing this but it can work too.
__________________

__________________
Ed Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:03 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Frederick L. Simson's Avatar
 
Name: Frederick
Trailer: Fiber Stream
California
Posts: 8,151
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Question Do you mean Back-to-Back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barryra View Post
Is there a plug in that's 2 sided so I can plug in the reciever from inside the closet & the tv outside it without having to add a seperate plug?
Are you thinking about like the way some extension cords have the receptacle end with one socket on one side and 2 sockets on the other?

Name:   images.jpg
Views: 182
Size:  4.6 KB

For a built-in receptacle that has to be mounted in a box, I would say no, I've never seen one.
__________________
Frederick - The Scaleman
1978 Fiber Stream 16 named "Eggstasy" & 1971 Compact Jr. named "Boomerang"
Frederick L. Simson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
barryra's Avatar
 
Name: Barry
Trailer: 1993 13 ft Scamp
Minnesota
Posts: 198
Registry
Thanks Ed & Frederick, I may just jimmy rig something in the closet.
__________________
barryra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Name: Greg
Trailer: 2008 Casita 17 SD
Washington
Posts: 1,047
Registry
Are you thinking of running an entirely new circuit from your converter or AC distribution box, or tying into an existing 120vac circuit? I would recommend (if you haven't already thought of it,) that you seriously consider installing the first receptacle in the line as a GFCI outlet, for wet location hazard protection. Outdoor outlets need this additional protection, but personally, I think that all trailer outlets should be on a GFCI protected circuit for safety.
__________________
Casita Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Victor Benz's Avatar
 
Name: Vic
Trailer: Fiber Stream 1982 16 ft
Alberta
Posts: 361
Registry
Barry;

Use a dougle gang box, and reverse one of the boxes. That will give you a spot for any outlet on either side.

Vic
__________________
Victor Benz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 03:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Trailer: 16 Scamp, 17 Casita, 21Bigfoot now
Posts: 412
Registry
I'm guessing that the wall you are speaking of is very thin. If you were install a plug box with the normal side facing out, I would suspect you could see the box protruding into the closet. On the inside, bring a wire out of the box and let it hang with a female plug on the end of the wire. Not to code so I didn't tell you to do it but I personally wouldn't worry about it. Put a loose knot on the wire inside the box before exiting to the closet so you don't pull on the electrical connection.
__________________
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:18 AM   #8
Member
 
Mike and Sarah K's Avatar
 
Name: Mike
Trailer: 1979 Trillium 13 ft
New Brunswick
Posts: 65
Registry
Rather than try to make two boxes with one on either side use 1 box in the closet (out of sight) and make a pass through in the wall like you see on a computer desk or for cables in a house.

Something like this

Pass Through Bundle Wire Wall Plate Single Gang
__________________
Mike and Sarah K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Trailer: Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
Posts: 509
My suggestion would be to use two 'low profile' recepticle boxes installed back to back.

A low profile box is one half the depth of a regular box.
__________________
CD and Joyce Smith - Lily, Violet, and Rose
1999 Casita 17' SD - "The Little Egg"
2007 Escalade - 6.2L V8 - 6L80E Trans - 3.42 Diff
CD Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
floyd's Avatar
 
Name: Floyd
Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
IllAnnoy
Posts: 6,046
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by barryra View Post
I want to add a 110 plug in to the outside upper right side of the closet for a small flat screen & am puting the dish reciever on a shelf in the upper inside of the closet & need to have that plugged in. Is there a plug in that's 2 sided so I can plug in the reciever from inside the closet & the tv outside it without having to add a seperate plug? I have called Home Depot & Menards.
They make extra shallow plastic non-conductive boxes which could be mounted side by side in the closet with one facing in and one cut through facing out this would give you a normal flush mount on the outside of the cabinet and a surface mount inside. the inside one could be screwed from outside the cabinet using button caps for esthetics, or it could be attached to the shelf inside the closet.
__________________

__________________
floyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
110 Volt Wiring Don N Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 31 12-09-2008 01:01 AM
MPG: Egg vs Conventional hard sided TT and Hi-Lo types Kip K. General Chat 16 08-27-2007 07:20 PM
50 amp service with a 110 plug !! Michel pouliot Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 6 06-10-2007 06:43 AM
Can 220 be changed to 110? jrnutpaul Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 7 02-24-2006 07:42 AM
12 volt and 110 Legacy Posts Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 24 07-04-2003 01:41 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.