Lil Bigfoot Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2015, 10:10 PM   #1

Name: Jen
Trailer: 1975 1300 Trillium
Yukon
Lil Bigfoot Questions

Hi everyone,

I am looking into buying a 1992 Lil Bigfoot, listed here on FGRV.
1992 13.5ft 'lil Bigfoot travel trailer - $6,500 - Edmonton, AB, Canada | Fiberglass RV's For Sale

I am new to this world and have some questions. I live in the Yukon, next to Alaska, so we'd have to travel quite a distance to buy this trailer and I want to know as much as I can before we commit to the trip. Its not ideal to almost buy sight unseen but where we live does not have many options for used fiberglass rv's. We are looking for the lightest option possible as we would be towing with our 2008 Subaru Forester which has a tongue weight of 200lbs and can tow up to 2400 pounds. I've learned lots from this forum about things to look for but still have some unanswered questions.

1. Brakes
I've read conflicting stories about Bigfoots and whether brakes are installed on all of them or just on the ones that weight more than 1000 pounds. The owners manual on Fiberglass RV says that brakes are installed on all of the trailers. But I've read in the forums that not all of the Lil Bigfoots have brakes. Can anyone tell me how I can find this out by looking at it or does it need to be taken to a shop? The owner didn't use a brake controller so wasn't sure if it had brakes or not.

2. Tongue Weight