my camper never had a battery - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-14-2017, 02:40 PM   #1

Name: rick
Trailer: 1986 Play Mor II
Florida
my camper never had a battery

Its a 1986 play mor II. I see no wiring for a battery. should I get a battery and the wiring or leave it as is? Newbie here. any suggestions will help.
rep1158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 03:19 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
What do you believe you need the battery for?
What is your camping "style" (how, where, and for how long)?
How often do you plan to camp without an electric connection?

For us, the 12V battery system is the only mechanical system on the trailer we use every trip, every day. We use the battery for lights, to charge electronics, and (occasionally) to power the furnace blower. We take short trips, usually 5 days or less, and in over 50 days' camping, we have never plugged in. Even when electric sites are available, primitive sites are usually nicer (and cheaper). At some point I'd like to add a small solar panel to keep the battery charged on our longer outings, but so far, we've always gotten by with our small group 24 battery. Our electric needs are fairly minimal, and I like being able to meet them without an umbilical cord.

But everyone is different.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 04:03 PM   #3

Florida
Uses of my small brown egg

I just took a trip from my home in Spring Hill, Fl to OKC and Texas. 3 weeks. Stayed in state parks the most. I'm hooked to shore power and city water of course.I want to boondock soon. I have the mr. buddy heater, the small one, made a portable shower, have propane for cooking inside and out, and getting a generator(inverter type 3100w champion ) for a/c microwave.
i have a thetford marine head, and a 10 gallon fresh water tank and extra 6 gallon jugs.