Need to Fit Garage Height - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2003, 03:16 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Need to Fit Garage Height

First, as a newbie, I love this site -java script:smilie(':wub');- I've spent many days of hours and hours here, browsing and researching and searching again. Everyone's contributions are wonderful.

Second, while still shopping for the perfect 13' egg, I need help on suggestions for accommodating height limits for our garage. I've compiled a spreadsheet of sorts for many of the diff. brands out there and have already recorded specs to include mftr-exterior-overall-heights for same.

I've read here (somewhere & I couldn't find it again) about using smaller wheels temporarily just for the garage-ability stay. And at one point, even saw a picture of same, but can no longer find it (after long hunt). java script:smilie(':u');

So. What size of wheels can I safely go down to (JUST for garage stay)? Say for a Scamp 13' (as a good example)... Which will shave off how much height? Of course, all and other suggestions welcome.

Thanks ahead-of-time.
- DLB

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 03:46 PM   #2

1300 trill tires off

i can just squeese mine in to 7 foot opening tires off and frame resting on a homemade creeper. oh i had to take the door lock off the door. big question is now its in here what to do with it? i cant do a thing so outside it now resides and siverado and canoes share the inside.

Old 08-20-2003, 05:17 PM   #3

garage-ability

Kinda depends on your garage door height.

Several people have posted solutions. Switching to smaller wheels, switching to small wheels WITHOUT tires on them, deflating tires slightly - one fellow just made his kids pile into the back of the trailer to compress the suspension enough.