new boler with custom frame, axle mount issue - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2015, 03:11 PM   #1

Name: K
Trailer: 72 boler 1300
Manitoba
new boler with custom frame, axle mount issue

hey everyone, picked myself up a 72 boler, which appears the previous owner built a new frame for it.

All looks good on it, except this issue I noticed last night. I tried searching around for pictures on the forum of frames with axles, but nothing showed up showing this specific area.

I'm no engineer, but having the tubing on edge like that seems a little sketchy to me.
Should I be pulling the shell off the frame and addressing this issue, or is this normal?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
boler.jpg   boler2.jpg  

r0yal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 07:35 PM   #2

Name: Joe
Trailer: 1973 13' Boler
Ontario
Bolers of that age came with a leading arm axle, yours has been changed to a trailing arm. Many do this when they put on new axles, to do it you need to put in the spacer you are seeing.
The commercial spacers - usually 2in tube steel - are generally 8-10in long which yours seems to be. If anything, yours looks to be off to the side of the original frame. I wonder about the length of your axle. How much clearance between the outer sidewall or the tire and the body?
Keaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 09:18 AM   #3

Name: Joe
Trailer: 1973 13' Boler
Ontario
I am also wondering if tere is any spring left in that torsion axle. What happens when you jack it up? Does the arm come down or stay where it is? If it's shot, you can order a new one with the proper conversion kit from Dexter axle or for from a fellow on this forum named Paul Neumeister ( he sold me mine, great source of info on all things Boler).
If you go that route, add brakes while you're at it.
Keaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2015, 03:58 PM   #4