New Compact Jr. Owner with a few ???'s - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2009, 07:50 PM   #1

Trailer: Compact Jr 1972
Hello! I have purchased a 1972 Compact Jr. completely gutted for $200. (I feel a little guilty about getting it so cheaply!)

I love this camper. It is exactly what I have been looking for.

I'm new to fiberglass, and have been reading this forum for a few weeks now.

Here's some of my questions:

1. Since the 1972 Compacts do not have anything on the walls, I'm wondering if there is significant adavanatage to carpeting the walls? I am thinking the 12 inch squares with adhesive on the back might be an easy material to work with. This would be done without using ensolite, or any sort of insulation. then again, I may just paint the walls if the carpet isn't worth the trouble.

2. My windows appear to be completely intact and the drip holes on the bottom are clear. I noticed when I washed it that the water just pours into the camper through the windows. Is this normal for Compact windows? Should I upgrade them as I start to re-store this camper to my specs?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
Attached Thumbnails
2.JPG   3.JPG  

6.JPG  
Tammy King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:08 PM   #2

Trailer: 1970 (Circa) Compact Jr and 1993 Casita
Wow- what a great price for a unique camper.
We have one and love it-it fits in our garage.
We have clear caulking on the outside around the windows-no leaks.
The walls have been painted white-no insulation or rat fur on them. I am going to paint them a light mustard or similar color to match the cushions.
You have a blank slate and can customize the camper to suite your taste.
Good luck and take pictures and post them.
Ricky 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:55 PM   #3

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp 1983 and 1972 Compact Jr (project)