new trailer lover - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2018, 03:38 PM   #1

Name: Julia
Trailer: In the market
Tennessee
Smile new trailer lover

I just purchased my first travel trailer...1986 Scamp. I have a 2012 Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited. Can anyone tell me which Hitch to get and what do I do for a break controller? I am a total newby...HELP
jabithorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 03:56 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: Escape 21, behind an '02 F250 7.3 diesel tug
Mid Left Coast
your car has no hitch reciever at all rigth now?

so you'll first need to get a 2" class III receiver assembly specific to your car, I believe Draw-Tite, Curt, and Reese all offer these for that generation Outback.

2nd, you'll need trailer hitch wiring with a 7-blade RV connector. this will require both a trailer light converter module, which you connect to your existing tail light circuits, this can be hidden behind a panel on one side of the back of the wagon, and is connected to various pins on the 7-blade, second you'll need to run a fused heavy gauge power wire (for the trailer charging circuit) from the battery to a relay then onto to the 7-blade, the relay would be triggered by your ignition circuit, 3rd, a heavy gauge brake wire from under the dash to the 7-blade. the brake controller mounts under or on the dash as convenient, and needs that brake wire, a power wire (which can be wired to the same relay as is supplying the charge power, a ground wire, and also needs a wire to the brake pedal switch so the brake controller knows when your brakes are depressed.