Newbie Help Please for 76 Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-25-2015, 03:11 PM   #1

Name: Susan
Trailer: Scamp
Nebraska
Newbie Help Please for 76 Scamp

Hi All,

I am a newbie here and new to the wonderful world of travel trailers! My boyfriend has owned a 13' 76 Scamp for awhile and sadly it has spent too many lonely years in the driveway. We are now making plans for an extended trip later this year and I am working on renovations! So, here's the issue...

It leaks. The front window and one on the door seem ok, but the sides and back are taking in water. The old aluminum frames don't look to be in the best shape and one of the plexiglass panes has a crack and pinhole in it.

We had a couple of friends take a look (both with construction knowledge and minimal aluminum trailer experience). They suggested replacing the windows and frames. I contacted Scamp Trailers and found out that the new windows are made smaller. I was told to either order new frames/windows and have someone do the fiberglass work to make them fit or to find other windows "somehow-somewhere".

Can anyone provide some advice? I was really hoping we could renovate the Scamp we have as opposed to purchasing another, plus time is ticking. I appreciate all ideas and suggestions!

Thank You
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1340.jpg   IMG_1344.jpg  

IMG_1342.jpg   IMG_1341.jpg  

scamposaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2015, 04:50 PM   #2

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by scamposaurus View Post
Hi All,

It leaks. The front window and one on the door seem ok, but the sides and back are taking in water. The old aluminum frames don't look to be in the best shape and one of the plexiglass panes has a crack and pinhole in it.