Newbie needs help ASAP!! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2014, 09:42 PM   #1

Name: Katie
Trailer: Scamp
Idaho
Newbie needs help ASAP!!

I'm BRAND NEW to owning a 1998 Scamp 13', I've recently discovered a water leak, and I have NO IDEA where to even start. It appears to be leaking at the joint where the rear fiberglass seat is attached (or just above it), or at least that's where the water is dripping out. There aren't any rivets directly outside this point, but there are some rivets near the top of the Scamp that have broken caps. Is it possible that the water is just leaking in through the rivets? If so, would it be sufficient to use silicon to seal the cap to the rivet, or how do I even go about fixing/replacing the rivet and cap without completely taking the inside carpeting apart? I've read descriptions from other posts, but am such a visual person I'm having a hard time understanding exactly what they are describing. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!!
katidesc13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 10:04 PM   #2
Administrator

Trailer: Casita 1999 17 ft Liberty Deluxe
Registry
Can you cover the back half of your Scamp with a tarp? (You will need to tie it down, of course.) I understand Salt Lake City had a whale of a storm today; if you can get the Scamp covered, then you have time to address the problem properly. (I'm not really in a position to tell you the right way to fix it, or even to figure out where the water is getting in - I'm just thinking that stopping the wet will give you peace of mind while you study the problem.)
Info on Adding Photos to a Post
RV Life Network FAQ
Mary F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 10:34 PM   #3

Idaho
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary F View Post