PAINTING ENSOLITE - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-05-2009, 09:13 PM   #1

Trailer: 17 ft Boler
Should I add a textile medium to my acrylic paint to paint my ensolite?

It makes sense to me, but I am not a painting expert and don't know that it is necessary.

Anyone paint their ensolite and add anything to it to enhance the pliancy of the paint?

D
Dawn S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:05 PM   #2

Trailer: 1972 Boler American and 1979 Trillium 4500
Dawn,

I don't know what a textile medium is so I can't answer to that.

I used Kilz Primer, and One shot sign paint and it is still holding up after 2 years, the paint still stretches with the ensolite. If I were to do it again, I'd use 2 coats of Kilz ULTIMATE primer and use the additive for the One Shot paint that will bring the sheen down from a gloss to an eggshell.

Once I'm finished tinkering with the interior, I will put a second coat of One Shot on useing the additive. When I researched what paints people were using and how, I found a lot of different answers and most seemed very happy with their results. Time will tell what holds up best over the years.
Roy in TO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:55 PM   #3

Trailer: 17 ft Boler
Quote:
Dawn,

I don't know what a textile medium is so I can't answer to that.

I used Kilz Primer, and One shot sign paint and it is still holding up after 2 years, the paint still stretches with the ensolite. If I were to do it again, I'd use 2 coats of Kilz ULTIMATE primer and use the additive for the One Shot paint that will bring the sheen down from a gloss to an eggshell.