Park Casita on incline? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2011, 11:24 AM   #1

Name: Jane
Trailer: 2012 Escape 19
California
Park Casita on incline?

Please forgive the total newbie questions, but I searched the internet and didn't find an answer.

We're taking delivery of our new to us Casita (17' SD) on Thursday and would like to park it in our driveway, but there is a 10 degree incline (I used a protractor so this is a pretty accurate measurement). I've attached pictures - yes that's the street in front also on an incline. We would park it on the left side which has the least driveway/street angle. Would it be safe to park it on our driveway using chocks and raising the tongue jack as much as possible? Also, although it has the high lift axle, does anyone know if it would bottom out (yikes!) at this incline? Are there other questions I should be asking?

thanks very much!
Jane
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2702.jpg   IMG_2703.jpg  

JaneM. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:26 PM   #2

Name: Greg
Trailer: 72 Boler American
Indiana
Good ?'s and I don't know what to tell you, my egg parks flat on the floor of what was the Permian sea many many years ago.
Greg H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:41 PM   #3

Trailer: Fiber Stream 16 ft
Registry
Jane,

To find out if your trailer will bottom out back it in very slowly with someone ready to scream STOP if it looks like the bumper will hit. Empirical but quick.

We had to flip the axle on our Fiber Stream to get it up the drive without bottoming.

We park on a slightly lesser incline than yours but the same principles should apply:

Get or make good chocks, big ones.