Plexiglass stationary windows in older Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-14-2014, 06:43 AM   #1

Name: Lesa
Trailer: In the market!
Arizona
Plexiglass stationary windows in older Scamp

I can't find anything using the search function in my cellphone app about how to care for my Plexiglass windows.

Firstly my front and rear windows are trash right now. They are likely 30 years old. I'm preparing to order new ones along with new seals. I am currently parked at an RV Park in Arizona. It is rather hot here. While working on my project the past two weeks I noticed that the windows spider cracks are growing. Because I'm noticing that process and I am new to both TTs (travel trailers) and FG eggs. I don't want to ruin the new ones.

I'm guessing that sun is an enemy of the plexiglass? as are road debris and rocks.

I have read about the gravel guard. I don't love that it is not hinged and wonder if it is the best solution for daily use as an awning.

An idea I thought of was to make or have made a shade cloth awning/window covering similar to those used by big Class A's. They are installed on the outside of the window. I think that this may function as a gravel guard as well.

Thoughts? Links to info? Ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Simply,
Lesa

SimplyLesa.blogspot.com

PS I found and watched a couple YouTube videos from 2009. Where they replaced a window. It's helpful for me to see the process.
SimplyLesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 07:37 AM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon