Plumbing connections using barbed fittings - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-16-2015, 12:29 PM   #1

Name: John
Trailer: '71 Boler, '87 Play-Mor II
Deep South
Plumbing connections using barbed fittings

Being that I have limited plumbing experience I would like to know what others here have experienced good or bad with the white flexible tubing type water lines using barbed connections. Both Home Depot & local hardware guys both recommended using barbed connections with this type tubing. I was going to use clear vinyl tubing the same way but it has 45 PSI stamped on it so I switched to the white flexible kind that says 100 psi. According to them and to what I have found on the internet the water tubing simply is pushed onto the barbed connections and that alone is enough to seal even up to 100 psi. Using a hose clamp can actually make the self sealing connection fail & leak.

Being that this is such a small plumbing job I don't want to spend a lot of $$$ buying special crimping tools or expensive fitting if what they are telling me is true about the barbed connections...

I would appreciate your input....
Johnny M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:07 PM   #2

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
The Sharkbite type connectors have a bad reputation. They might work fine for you, but I would avoid them.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:29 PM   #3

Deep South
Gordon, I did look at those but I purchased standard brass barbed connections based on the stores' recommendation
Old 09-16-2015, 01:37 PM   #4

Name: Paul
Trailer: Escape
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon2 View Post
The Sharkbite type connectors have a bad reputation. They might work fine for you, but I would avoid them.