Possible Broken Rivet - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2015, 03:53 PM   #1

Name: Krestine
Trailer: Scamp 16'
Washington
Possible Broken Rivet

Hi, I'm Krestine and I'm new to Fiberglass RV as well as RVing in general.
I’ve been full-time in my Scamp since May 4 and about two weeks ago noticed that a cabinet is pulling away from the trailer frame. I sent an email with photos to Scamp and got the reply, "Cabinet probably just needs to be re-fastened in place. Rivet probably broke on top."
Of course, I am really concerned about whether or not this is this a major structural issue or just something I need to get fixed? I’m not having much success at getting a local RV repair shop/person due to the fact that all are over booked at this time of year. Would appreciate any input about what I need to do. Photos attached
Attached Thumbnails
Rivet-Door.JPG   Rivet-Rght.JPG  

Rivet-Left.JPG  
DKReed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 05:14 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
What does the outside look like? Is there still a snap cap on it? It looks to me like it is loose and possibly allowing a little water to seep in.

In any case, the repair is straightforward. Replace the rivet along with the plastic base and snap cap. If you're going to own a Scamp this is a repair you need to learn how to do. Do a Google site search on "replace rivet" and you should turn up some helpful tutorials.

It's not something you have to do today or even tomorrow, but sooner is better than later.
Jon in AZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 08:36 AM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet