Questions on adding to the rear of Scamp 16 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2016, 03:51 PM   #1

Name: Teal
Trailer: Scamp 16
Arizona
Red face Questions on adding to the rear of Scamp 16

Greetings again,

I am considering adding a small cargo carrier to the rear of my Gem with a bike rack attached. I've read some posts that allude to negative reasons for adding to the rear.

What is the weight or tongue ratio issue associated... I am not an engineer, but know that this is the case, just trying to understand, and learn about what others have done to see if what I am planning would be OK.

Wouldn't some weight in the rear offset the tongue weight? how much would be OK?

Thanks so much for your experience and recommendations.
Teal
Teal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 04:27 PM   #2

Name: Sergey
Trailer: 2014 Scamp 16 layout 4, 2018 Winnebago Revel 4x4
SW Florida
The rule of thumb is - tongue weight should be 10% or more of the total trailer weight. The weight on the rear could make tongue weight too light.

My scamp 16 tows fine with a bicycle on the rear, but I have relatively tongue heavy side bath model and I keep tongue height slightly below level (nose down).
Old 07-02-2016, 04:37 PM   #3

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington
The tongue weight should be at least 10% but no more than 15% of the trailer weight. Adding weight to the rear will reduce tongue weight but it also can produce a pendulum effect with the trailer.
Jack L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 07:13 PM   #4

Name: J
Isle of Wight
Why do you say no more than 15%?
Any science behind that? (assuming you stay within the limits of the tow vehicle of course)
WizWid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:08 PM   #5

Trailer: No Trailer Yet