'Rat fur' shedding - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-21-2018, 01:36 AM   #1

Name: Pavlo
Trailer: Scamp
California
'Rat fur' shedding

Hi guys

I'm completely new to fiberglass RV world (and to the whole RV world in general)

My wife and I recently bought our first 2005 Scamp 13ft. I've been hunting for one for months and finally got it, so we're still excited.

During the initial cleanup I discovered a really frustrating issue: the headliner aka "rat fur" is shedding like crazy! It is not that bad on the ceiling, but very noticeable on the walls above the side windows. Literally, just a light tap on the wall makes a bit of dust and fibers. I vacuumed it several times, but it doesn't get much better, dust/fiber particles just keep coming, like the carpet material is crumbling from the inside.

Does anyone else has/had this problem and what do you think would be the best solution?
Is there any way to reinforce the fibers and stop shedding? Replacing the upholstery wasn't in my plans, so I really looking for some less radical solution.

Thanks!
CA_hiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 02:41 AM   #2

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California
Wow Pavlo, I've never heard of that problem before. Some members should be along soon with info for you but it may help if we knew the environment where the TT came from. BTW, welcome to the forum .
Borrego Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 06:47 AM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
maybe take her to the car wash and use their more powerful vac!

strange

bob
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 07:08 AM   #4

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry