Removing Old Smoke Odor from Casita - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2015, 05:14 PM   #1

Name: Harvey
Trailer: '84 Scamp 13' & 2001 Casita 17' Spirit Deluxe
Arkansas
Removing Old Smoke Odor from Casita

In January of this year we found on Craigslist a 2001 Casita 17' Spirit Deluxe. Trailer had been used but kept in excellent condition except at least one of the users was a heavy smoker. The carpeted walls had absorbed a lot of odor. I've had some experience removing smoking odor from RVs, & the price was right so we brought it home. I ordered one of the small 'bare bones' ozone generators (3600mg per hour) to 'shock' the odor for removal & it has worked pretty well. I cleaned all hard, smooth surfaces with chlorine bleach solution, then used the same solution sprayed on the carpeted walls, let it dry & vacuumed, the walls thoroughly. The 'bare bones' ozone generator recommends a 20" box fan to move the air, provide more 'shock' & to cool the transformer. I have a small 8" 12VDC 'truckers' fan which has provided pretty good air circulation. I've used the ozone generator probably 4-5 times for around an hour each time, & let it air out thoroughly afterwards. It has removed the old smoke odor, leaving a slight, lingering ozone 'fresh' smell in the camper but the old smoke odor returns after a few days. It is a very slight odor but noticeable when first entering the camper. I've also tried spraying with lemon scent Pine Sol, Fabreeze, & Lysol Neutra Air odor neutralizer. All seem to help on a temporary basis but eventually the odor returns, even tho considerably reduced. I had the same problem with a pop-up truck camper & eventually got rid of the odor by spraying the canvas walls & screen with the lemon scent Pine Sol. I didn't have the ozone generator at that time.