Starting a restoration and have a couple of ?s - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2009, 03:25 PM   #1
art

Trailer: Trail Michigante
Greetings,

Im new to travel trailer ownership and have acquired a early 70s TrailMite. Im going to go throught the whole thing and need some opinions on beginning. Basically, Im starting with the frame and suspension and have decided on a Torflex axel but Im wondering if I should get electric brakes. Ive got a Forester XT with HiPerformance rotors and pads and we will be going lightweight on our loads. Im hoping to keep the ttl weight to 1100lbs. Im putting quite a bit of aluminum in it.

Next, are aluminum wheels any better or worse than the standard steel spoked versions. Weight vs durability etc.

Thanks, Art
art is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 06:14 PM   #2

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Talking

Quote:
Im wondering if I should get electric brakes.
Im hoping to keep the ttl weight to 1100lbs.
Weclome to FiberglassRV, Art

I work in the weights and measures industry as a scale repair technician. As a "Busman's Holiday" I weigh Travel Trailers at Rallys and Gatherings. The average weight of all of the loaded-and-ready-for-the-road (NOT "Dry Weight") 13' trailers I have personally weighed is close to [b]1900 pounds. Including my own. (I used to own a 13' Compact Jr.)

IMHO, you cannot go wrong putting electric brakes on any trailer. You might get by without them if your loaded-and-ready-for-the-road trailer weighs [b]less than half of your tow vehicle's rated capacity, up to your state's legal limit for going brakeless... but I feel that if you are closer than that to your tow vehicle's rated capacity, then Electric Trailer Brakes are necessary.
Old 09-28-2009, 06:53 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe