Std Stuff-TV or Ext. Hatches - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2013, 01:50 AM   #1

Name: C. Elaine
Trailer: Casita 2001 spirit
California
Std Stuff-TV or Ext. Hatches

Newbie here. Everything is out of my Egg while I finish rebuild & clean carpets (floor & cabinets) Would it not be handier to place my essentials in boxes in my 4-Runner trunk rather than all those small compartments? Like a box with drinking water hose the filter & pressure regulator. Then one for waste stuff and another with electrical. Just thought fooling with all the little compartments would be a pain especially if it was getting dark. I am flexible just need suggestions. I am just going to visit family in TX not boondocking or becoming fulltimer. Help
Elaine
partslady9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:16 AM   #2

Name: Frank
Trailer: 2012 ParkLiner #006
New York
Makes sense to me long as you have the room Elaine. The important thing with storage is balance, and none of the stuff you mention would have much of an effect on weight distribution anyways. We like clear plastic containers for stuff like that, makes it easy to find what you're looking for. Good luck!

Frank
frank_a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:04 AM   #3

Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2001 Casita Spirit Deluxe (I'm down to 2!)
Elaine

I use several Rubbermaid tubs with lids exactly as you suggest for the bigger and dirtier stuff mostly.
I also keep the things in them that I am not always going to need when setting up but have proven handy to have with me just in case.

I keep the always used setup items in a Tub inside the Bathroom while on the road as it will always be the first out and last in when setting up or breaking down camp.

My small compartments though are also full of the day to day smaller stuff we always need to live or think we need anyway!